Databases
A BCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWAll

A to Z Maps
High quality, printable maps of all types including topographical, climate, historical, political, and thematic.
AAPG Datapages Archives
American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, plus content from 40 other publishers and societies.  Access provided by alumnus Lawrence W. Funkhouser.
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) searches scholarship on all aspects of Eastern Europe
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts of articles in all fields of anthropology and archaeology.

Dates of Coverage: 2001 to date

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Access Newspaper Archive
Scanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns across the US with some international coverage. 
Access Science
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
ACM Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery. Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.  Journals, books, trade magazines.

ACO Music Data Analysis
A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
ACS Journals
American Chemical Society; current online subcriptions plus the archive of 1879-1995 ACS journals.  

Ad*Access (1911-1955)
Print advertising images from U.S. and Canadian publications;  organized by product category: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience.
Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
Agricola
Journals, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports; all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, from National Agricultural Library.

Dates of Coverage: 1970 - Present

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; independent source for drug information written in lay language. Includes patient instructions, drug interactions, dietary restrictions, precautions, and common side effects.  First published 1978.


Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
Index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals

Dates of Coverage:  1988-

Alt HealthWatch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Alternative Press Index
References to journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. 

Dates of coverage:  1991 to date
Aluka
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.

Ambrose Video
More than 500 HD streaming videos for humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; includes the complete BBC Shakespeare, A History of Civil Rights in America, and the Miracle of the Human Body series.  Closed captioning provided.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
America: History and Life
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages.
Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date
American & English Literature
American & English Literature contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: 20th Century African American Poetry Collection; 20th Century American Poetry Collection; 20th Century English Poetry Collection; African American Poetry 1700-1900 Collection; American Poetry 1600-1900 Collection; Bible in English; Bibliography of American Literature; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; Eighteenth-Century Fiction 1700-1800; English Poetry 600-1900 Collection; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Drama 13-19th Centuries; W.B. Yeats Collections.
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955
Comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities between 1933 and 1955.
American Film Institute Catalog
Comprehensive information about all films released between 1893 and 1974;  brief records for all films since 1975 with in-depth coverage of selected titles.  Search by title, cast, crew, character; subject; genre; release year and more. Most records include extensive plot summaries.

Dates of Coverage: 1893 to date
American History in Video
Digital streaming videos including documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos, with searchable video transcripts.
American National Biography
Biographical information on tens of thousands of prominent Americans.  Entries are signed by the authors and include bibliographic references.

American Periodicals (1740-1940)
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
American State Papers (1789-1838)
Legislative and executive branch documents from the first 14 U.S. congresses, including presidential speeches, treaties and more.
American West
Includes manuscripts, maps, rare printed sources, ephemera, and images that document the history of the western United States.
Ancestry - Library Edition
Note: Access to Ancestry - Library Edition is limited to on-campus users only
Genealogical research tool containing census data, vital and military records, immigration records, court documents, directories, and more.
L' Année Philologique
Indexes articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings covering all aspects of classical studies. Historical coverage ranges from prehistory to the Middle Ages.
Dates of Coverage: 1924 to date
Annual Reviews
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Anthropology Plus
Citations for journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works, in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.

Includes records from Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).

 

Dates of Coverage: Late 19th c. to date


AnthroSource
Publications of the American Anthropological Association.

Art Full Text (1984 to date)
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art.  There is some full-text from 1995 to date.

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art. 

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
Art Sales Index (1970 to date)
Lists price paid for fine art sold at major auction houses worldwide.  Includes sales of oil paintings, works on paper, miniatures, prints, sculpture & photographs from pre-history to date.
 

Art Slides - Oberlin College Art Department

A growing database of images selected by Art Dept. faculty to support instruction.  Primarily architecture, sculpture, painting, and other media from various art historical periods. 

Oberlin College educational use only.   Redistribution off campus prohibited.


ARTbibliographies MODERN
Index to more than 300 international art journals & magazines covering art in the late 19thc to date.
Includes the fine arts and new media but no architecture. 
Also indexes exhibition catalogs, books and essays in books. 

Dates of Coverage: 1969 to date

ARTFL (French Literature)
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is a cooperative project between the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. The full-text database contains nearly 2,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. 

ArticleFirst
Articles on all subjects.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)
 
ARTstor
Over 1 million images selected to support research and teaching in art history from pre-history to contemporary media. The quality of images may vary.

ATLA Religion Database
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology.

Dates of Coverage: 1949-


ATLASerials, Religion Collection
Full text from more than 100 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.  


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes architecture and related fields, from pre-history to contemporary practice, in over 2,500 international journals.  Architecture of North & South America, Europe, Asia, & Australia. Allows searching by type of drawing (plans, sections) & image type (interior photograph).
 
Dates of Coverage:  1930s to date (with a handful of titles indexed back to the 19thc.0

Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP