Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWAll

19th Century British Newspapers
National and regional English, Scottish, Irish and Welsh. Stengths include coverage include political and social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule, and penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes.

Dates of Coverage: 1800s
19th Century British Pamphlets
Searchable digital scans of British Pamphlets held by UK libraries, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
Dates of Coverage: 1603-1899
19th Century Masterfile
A vast index to British and American periodicals, newspapers, books, and other sources documenting the 19th century. 
Dates of Coverage: 1786 -1922
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Full text searchable articles representing most US states. Includes searchable page scans of the originals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899
 
A to Z Maps
High quality, printable maps of all types including topographical, climate, historical, political, and thematic.
AAPG Datapages Archives
American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, plus content from 40 other publishers and societies.  Access provided by alumnus Lawrence W. Funkhouser.
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies) searches scholarship on all aspects of Eastern Europe
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Abstracts in Anthropology
Abstracts of articles in all fields of anthropology and archaeology.

Dates of Coverage: 2001 to date

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Access Newspaper Archive
Scanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns across the US with some international coverage. 
Access Science
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
ACM Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery. Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.  Journals, books, trade magazines.

ACS Journals
American Chemical Society; current online subcriptions plus the archive of 1879-1995 ACS journals.  

Ad*Access (1911-1955)
Print advertising images from U.S. and Canadian publications;  organized by product category: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience.
Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
Agricola
Journals, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports; all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, from National Agricultural Library.

Dates of Coverage: 1970 - Present

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists; independent source for drug information written in lay language. Includes patient instructions, drug interactions, dietary restrictions, precautions, and common side effects.  First published 1978.


Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
Index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals

Dates of Coverage:  1988-

Alt HealthWatch
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Alternative Press Index
References to journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. 

Dates of coverage:  1991 to date
Aluka
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.

Ambrose Video
More than 500 HD streaming videos for humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; includes the complete BBC Shakespeare, A History of Civil Rights in America, and the Miracle of the Human Body series.  Closed captioning provided.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
America: History and Life
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages.
Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date
American & English Literature
American & English Literature contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: 20th Century African American Poetry Collection; 20th Century American Poetry Collection; 20th Century English Poetry Collection; African American Poetry 1700-1900 Collection; American Poetry 1600-1900 Collection; Bible in English; Bibliography of American Literature; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; Eighteenth-Century Fiction 1700-1800; English Poetry 600-1900 Collection; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Drama 13-19th Centuries; W.B. Yeats Collections.
American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955
Comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities between 1933 and 1955.
American Film Institute Catalog
Comprehensive information about all films released between 1893 and 1974;  brief records for all films since 1975 with in-depth coverage of selected titles.  Search by title, cast, crew, character; subject; genre; release year and more. Most records include extensive plot summaries.

Dates of Coverage: 1893 to date
American History in Video
Digital streaming videos including documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos, with searchable video transcripts.
American National Biography
Biographical information on tens of thousands of prominent Americans.  Entries are signed by the authors and include bibliographic references.

American Periodicals (1740-1940)
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
American State Papers (1789-1838)
Legislative and executive branch documents from the first 14 U.S. congresses, including presidential speeches, treaties and more.
American West
Includes manuscripts, maps, rare printed sources, ephemera, and images that document the history of the western United States.
Ancestry - Library Edition
Note: Access to Ancestry - Library Edition is limited to on-campus users only
Genealogical research tool containing census data, vital and military records, immigration records, court documents, directories, and more.
L' Année Philologique
Indexes articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings covering all aspects of classical studies. Historical coverage ranges from prehistory to the Middle Ages.
Dates of Coverage: 1924 to date
Annual Reviews
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Anthropology Plus
Citations for journal articles, reports, commentaries, and edited works, in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.

Includes records from Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute).

 

Dates of Coverage: Late 19th c. to date


AnthroSource
Publications of the American Anthropological Association.

Art Full Text (1984 to date)
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art.  There is some full-text from 1995 to date.

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art. 

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
Art Sales Index (1970 to date)
Lists price paid for fine art sold at major auction houses worldwide.  Includes sales of oil paintings, works on paper, miniatures, prints, sculpture & photographs from pre-history to date.
 

Art Slides - Oberlin College Art Department

A growing database of images selected by Art Dept. faculty to support instruction.  Primarily architecture, sculpture, painting, and other media from various art historical periods. 

Oberlin College educational use only.   Redistribution off campus prohibited.


ARTbibliographies MODERN
Index to more than 300 international art journals & magazines covering art in the late 19thc to date.
Includes the fine arts and new media but no architecture. 
Also indexes exhibition catalogs, books and essays in books. 

Dates of Coverage: 1969 to date

ARTFL (French Literature)
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is a cooperative project between the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. The full-text database contains nearly 2,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. 

ArticleFirst
Articles on all subjects.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science)
 
ARTstor
Over 1 million images selected to support research and teaching in art history from pre-history to contemporary media. The quality of images may vary.

ATLA Religion Database
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology.

Dates of Coverage: 1949-


ATLASerials, Religion Collection
Full text from more than 100 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.  


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes architecture and related fields, from pre-history to contemporary practice, in over 2,500 international journals.  Architecture of North & South America, Europe, Asia, & Australia. Allows searching by type of drawing (plans, sections) & image type (interior photograph).
 
Dates of Coverage:  1930s to date (with a handful of titles indexed back to the 19thc.0

Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall
Note: Only one user at a time.
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. There are more than 30 broadcasts a year, and the site contains an archive of past performances.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date)
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of  East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.  
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Index of books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada, covering native North American history and culture.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (1975-2007)
Index to more than. 1,200 North American and European journals covering Western Art from the Late Christian (ca. 300 CE) to the present.
 
Succeeded by International Bibliography of Art

Biography Reference Bank
Biographical information about over 500,000 people; includes images, full-text articles, and abstracts of biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries.
BIOSIS Previews (via Web of Science)
Indexes worldwide biological and medical literature.  Includes Biological Abstracts.  Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
Black Studies Center
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds
More than 30,000 digitized recordings of over 1000 species of animals from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics at The Ohio State University.

BuildingGreen.com
Includes Environmental building news, 1992- , lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
Business Source Complete
Access to business journals, case studies, company profiles and market research reports, covering all aspects of business, management, finance, accounting, and economics.
Cambridge Histories Online
Historical overviews and contextual essays from leading scholars on topics across a broad range of time periods and geographies. Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs and are printable.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1: 1718-1876
Historical Caribbean newspapers most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Indexes electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Dates of Coverage: 1976 -

Catalogue of Japanese Art in the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts
Chemical Abstracts
Merges Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound data from CAS Registry, chemical reactions from CASReact, and Medline.  More information

Access requires individual registration, from oberlin.edu (on campus users only).  


Chicano Database
Citations to articles and books on all aspects of the Mexican-American, Chicano and broader Latino experience. Broad subject coverage includes art, language, sociology, psychology, public policy, economics, history,literature, politics, and law.

Dates of Coverage: 1960s to date
China Academic Journals (CNKI)
Full text articles from hundreds of Chinese academic journals on literature/history/philosophy.  Many journals in Chinese include English abstracts.

Dates of coverage:  1994 -

China: Culture and Society (1750-1929)
Rare pamphlets, mostly in English, on a wide variety of topics including the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations, missionaries, philosophy, art and literature and more.  
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. 
Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes.

Dates of Coverage: 1991-

CINAHL
Indexing and full text coverage for journals in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health.

Dates of Coverage: 1937-


Clase and Periodica
Clase and Periodica is an index of articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.

Dates of Coverage: 1975- (Clase); 1978- (Periodica).


Cleveland News Index
Citations to local news stories, feature articles and reviews from: Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999; Cleveland Magazine (1983- ); Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ); Ohio Magazine (1990- ). Includes obituaries since 1976.
Dates of Coverage: 1983 to date
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.

Compendex
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Contains abstracts from journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports worldwide.

Dates of Coverage: 1884-present
 


Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, including the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Covers criminology, corrections and prisons, substance abuse and addictions, probation and parole.

Current Digest of the Chinese Press

Selections from Chinese newspapers translated into English; subject coverge includes Chinese politics and culture, international relations and security, and business and the economy.


Derwent Innovations Index (via Web of Science)
Access to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
 
Digital National Security Archive
Collections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
Digital Scores


Dolphin Embryo Microscopic Slides
Scanned images of histological sections, with many sections per single embryo.
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music includes over 1,200 CDs (7,500 compositions). The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.
Drama Online
A digital library of plays from Aeschylus to the present day. Also includes critical analysis, contextual information, and reference information
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800)
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Primary source matierial of all types documenting American  history from 1801-1819.
Early Encounters in North America
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
Early English Books Online
Searchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.
Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership
Note: This interface allows full text searching.
Allows searching of the full texts of the works.

Eastview Universal Databases
Note: Includes newspapers from China (in English) and Russia (in English and Russian)
Full-text of Russian newspapers and English-language sources Current Digest of the Chinese Press and Current Digest of the Russian Press.
eBooks Collection (EBSCO )
Note: Create a personal account to take advantage of tools and features.
Searchable full text books in a variety of subject areas.



ebrary Academic Complete
Note: Create a personal account to take advantage of tools and features.
Full text books in all subject areas.

EBSEES: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1991-2006)
Covers West European scholarship on Russia, the former Soviet Union, and East-Central and Eastern Europe.
Dates of Coverage: 1991-2007
EconLit
Comprehensive index of economic literature, including journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and books. Also includes full text for hundreds of journals.
Dates of coverage: 1886 to date
Economia y Negocios
Provides citations in Spanish for articles on business and economics from over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.  Produced in Peru by ESAN (Escuela de Administracion de Negocios para Graduados), the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world.

Dates of Coverage: 1980s-


Education Full Text

Indexes articles from education journals and books. Topics include teaching methods, multicultural/ethnic education, alternative and comparative education, testing, policy issues, teacher evaluation, school administration, higher education, and more. Selective access to full-text articles from about 350 journals.

Dates of coverage:  1983 to date


Education Research Complete
Indexes journal articles, books, and conference papers covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all areas including curriculum, administration, policy, funding, testing, and related social issues. Indexes over 1,500 journals, with full text for more than 750 journals.

Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
eHRAF World Cultures
Full-text ethnographies subject-indexed at the paragraph level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Scans of over 200,000 volumes published in English (mainly in the UK) in the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800
Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations
600 videos of physics experiments, augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. Each video illustrates a particular principle of physics.
English Short Title Catalogue
English Short Title Catalogue is drawn from the extensive collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries, the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published mainly in the British Isles and North America between 1473 and 1800. Items listed are mainly, but not exclusively, in English.

Dates of Coverage: 1473-1800
Environment Complete
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
The world's largest source of education information, with indexing and detailed descriptions of over 1.4 million journal articles, books, documents, research reports, surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, program overviews, conference papers, and other resource materials.  All areas of education research and practice are included. Many items include full text. Maintained by the U.S. Dept. of Education.

Dates of Coverage: 1966 to date
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America.
Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Note: Especially helpful for studying linguistic anthropology.


ETHX Web (1974-2009)
ETHX Web covers the literature of bioethics and professional ethics, with over 250,000 citations to journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included.

Dates of Coverage: 1974-2009
European Views of the Americas (1493-1750)
Based on the bibligraphy “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750” from the John Carter Brown Library.
Factiva
Note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 
The Felix Posen Bibliographic Project on Antisemitism Help Guide
Lists over 50,000 publications and videos on antisemitism and the Holocaust.  Maintained by the Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Dates of coverage:  1925 to date
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Citations of journal articles, book reviews, and essays covering topics of gender and sexuality in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from 450 to 1500 AD
Dates of Coverage: 1990 to date
FIAF Databases
Collection of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), including the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972 to date) and International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-2006), and Treasures from the Film Archives, information on more than 40,000 silent film holdings around the world.
 
Film & Television Literature Index
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Film Literature Index
References to popular and scholarly articles about film and television.

Dates of Coverage: 1976-2001
Finding Aid Repository - OhioLINK
Search finding aids across Ohio to locate archival materials and collections.
FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
Covers areas in the field of international relations and security, such as hard facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics and other reference data.
Folk Song Index
Folk Song Index includes the song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse, and full bibliographic information on the source. The index contains over 42,700 entries, and, to date, indexes over 2,225 anthologies.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996)
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
Foreign Language Video Instruction
A collection of  video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. Videos are available in QuickTime format. Produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium.
FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Sciences)
Indexes and abstracts international, multilingual, multidisciplinary resources in the humanities and social sciences.

Subjects: archaeology; art history; ethnology; French literature; geography; history of science and technology; information science; linguistics; management; philosophy; prehistory; religion; sociology.

Dates of Coverage: 1984-


Fuente Academica
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database covers 260 scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Has a special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices, for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students.

Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more.

Dates of Coverage: 1972-


GenETHX: Genetics and Ethics Database
Covers the literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics from journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included.
GeoRef
Indexes all topics in geoscience, in journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of Coverage: 1785-present

GreenFILE
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles that examine environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Multidisciplinary, drawing on agriculture, education, law, health and technology sources.
Grove Art Online
Note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies; Covers art broadly defined (traditional & new media, decorative arts, performance, dance, ritual, jewelry, etc.) worldwide from pre-history to the present.


Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Information on 4,000+ species; includes Amphibians, Birds, Fish, Insects, Invertebrates, Mammals and Reptiles; covers evolution, habitat, behavior, and range.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
An annotated bibliography of articles and books on humanities and social science topics.

Dates of Coverage: 1936 to date

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Dates of Coverage: 1970-

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Searchable full text for consumer health periodicals, health-related pamphlets, health reference books, and drug monographs.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full text journals in nursing, allied health, drug monographs, plus access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.  

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.
Historical Abstracts
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available.
Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date
Historical Statistics of the United States
Standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Users can view and download data, and  create customized tables and spreadsheets.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials
Dates of coverage: 1975 to present
Humanities E-Book
Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 1700 books of high quality, covering most humanities disciplines and area studies. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. HEB now adds approximately 300 books annually to the collection. Titles come from 250 publishers and have been selected by eleven ACLS learned societies or reviewed by a panel of distinguished scholars. HEB currently works with nearly 80 university presses.

Humanities E-Book was formerly known as the History E-Book Project.

Title list and subject categories.


Humanities International Complete
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
IMF eLibrary Data
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Uses can view and download predefined data reports or create custom reports of IMF data.
In the First Person
Letters, Diaries and Oral History transcripts of more than 18,000 individuals from all walks of life.
Index Islamicus
Includes scholarship from various disciplines written about the Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim populations across the globe.
Dates of Coverage: 1906 to date
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes contents of the 42 major art journals published in 19th c. America.  Covers the fine arts, architecture, design and photography in Europe and North America
from prehistory to the late 19thc.  Advertisements are indexed and many articles have links to full text.

Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexes English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.  Covers Jewish and Middle Eastern culture, literature, history, politics, religion, and other areas of study.

Dates of Coverage: 1988 to date
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin News (1860-1940)
Searchable citations of historical articles in local newspapers.
Dates of Coverage: 1860-1940
Index to the Oberlin Observer (1979-1998)
Citations to articles in the newsletter for Oberlin College faculty and staff.
Inspec
The most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.

Dates of coverage:  1969 to present.

Insurance Periodicals Index
Insurance Periodicals Index indexes and abstracts over 200 of the most respected and widely-read insurance industry journals and magazines. IPI will interest researchers in economics, social scientists, and insurance and government organizations. IPI features a controlled vocabulary of index terms which reflect current industry terminology.

Dates of Coverage: 1965-


International Bibliography of Art (2008 to date)
Indexes 500 “core” journals covering European art since antiquity, American art since the Colonial period, and Global art since 1945.

Preceded by the Bibliography of the History of Art

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts.

International Index to Performing Arts
Indexes over 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. Also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

Dates of Coverage: 1864 to date
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes international scholarship covering the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Dates of Coverage: 1967 to date
International Political Science Abstracts
Citations for articles in political science and related disciplines.

Dates of Coverage: 1951 to date


IPA Source: IPA transcriptions and literal translations of songs and arias
IPA Source contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
iPoll (1935 to date)
Comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations.   Data is available at the question-level.
Dates of coverage: 1935 -
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe.
Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date
JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  recent volumes (within 2 to 5 years) not available for many titles.
Kids Search (for students grades 3-8) Help Guide
Offers a colorful, easy-to-use search interface to EBSCO databases for elementary and middle school students. Includes magazine articles, a dictionary, an encyclopedia, and images. Searches can be focused by selecting topic areas, and results can be filtered by source type, such as magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, and photos.
Learning Express Library
Includes tutorials for Adobe, Microsoft, and Windows software applications, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, GMAT  test preparation, skill building modules in personal finance, public speaking, reading comprehension, math and reasoning, and spelling and vocabulary.
Left Index
Complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. 
Legal Collection
Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. This database is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

Dates of Coverage: 1965-


LegalTrac
LegalTrac includes articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.

Dates of Coverage: 1980-

LexisNexis Academic
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

LGBT Life
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Subject coverage includes online information retrieval, information management and more.

Coverage database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Includes descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Dates of Coverage: 1973-

Literary Index
Literary Index provides quick and easy access to 130 literature products from Gale Group and the imprints Charles Scribner\'s Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. These products contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Information on thousands of authors and works, including: plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies, interviews and images; and book reviews.

Literature Resource Center
Note: on the Artemis platform with LitFinder database.
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.
LitFinder
Note: on the Artemis platform with the Literature Resource Center.

Full text of poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches and plays. Includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.


Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
Lynda.com
Note: Contact cit@oberlin.edu for access to Lynda.com
Online software training site. Some tutorials are freely available, others require a subscription.

Mammal Species of the World
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History hosts this database of mammalian taxonomy. Verify recognized scientific names and conduct taxonomic research.
Marquis Who's Who (1985 to date)
Includes: 
Who's Who in America
Who's Who in the World
Who's Who in American History
Who's Who in American Art
Who's Who in American Politics
MAS Ultra: School Edition (for students grades 9-12)
Includes nearly 500 full-text magazines accessible to high school readers covering a wide range of subject areas.  Full text is also available for biographies, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Master Drawings Index
Dates of Coverage: 1963 - 2003
MasterFILE Premier
Provides abstracting and indexing for popular magazines and periodicals, and full text for the majority of titles.
MathSciNet
MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Approximately 1700 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part. List of journals indexed.

Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present.

Maya Archeology Digital Photographs
A collection of digital photographs of Maya archeological sites in Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala.

medici.tv
A classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
MedicLatina
A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.
Medline
MEDLINE (24 million citations in biomedical literature) plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version)
Most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.  Includes full text of nearly 1500 titles.
MEDLINE (PubMed version)
The most comprehensive journal article index for medicine and health. Search it plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., plus National Library of Medicine catalog.

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
Meiji Japan: The Edward Morse Collection from Peabody Essex Museum
The Edward Morse Papers (ca. 1858-1925), document the numerous and contributions made by Morse to the areas of zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history.
Metropolitan Opera on Demand
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
An index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. 

Dates of coverage:  1900 and earlier to date
Middle English Compendium
Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources, including a large collection of Middle English texts. Hypertext links offer quick connections between, e.g., an MED citation, bibliographical information about its source, and an electronic version of the source, if one is included in the collection.
Middle Search Plus (for students grades 6-8)
Provides access to nearly 160 full-text magazines accessible to middle school readers through the standard EBSCO interface.  Covers a wide range of subject areas.  Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages.
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints (1796-1850)
Bibliography of books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Ohio from 1796 through 1850
Morgan Index of Ohio People, Businesses and Institutions (1796-1850)
Names of Ohio people, businesses and institutions in books, pamphlets and broadsides included items from the Morgan Bibliography of Ohio Imprints. To date, the titles indexed are primarily school catalogues (over 37,000 student names), city directories, annual conventions, and many other individual titles.
Music Index Online
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.

Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
Music Industry Data
A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
Musical America
Contains international industry news, all contact information and articles.
MusRef
A database of over 7,400 online and print resources in music, covering materials ranging from dictionaries to music collections online to exhibition catalogs. Approximately 1,800 of the entries are annotated with notes on scope, organization, and uses.
NAACP Papers (1909-1970)
Internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices of the NAACP, including papers of prominent individuals.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.

Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Contains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children’s Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare’s Plays. New titles are added every month.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research)
Provides full text of NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers covering all areas of economic interest, including energy, environment, labor, health, education, and finance.
Dates of coverage: 1994 to date
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) indexes and summarizes more than 170,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Several core periodicals are comprehensively indexed, and many more are scanned for selective indexing. Most documents published by NCJRS sponsoring government agencies since 1995 are available in full text on the NCJRS Web site at www.ncjrs.org; a URL is included linking to the full-text for each document available online.

Dates of Coverage: 1970's-

The New York Times (1851-2010)
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.

 


Nikkei Telecom 21
Note: Access is via a pay-per-use pricing structure. Funding for this resource is limited.  Please contact Xi Chen, the East Asian Studies Librarian (xi.chen@oberlin.edu, Mudd 115, 440-775-5116) for log in information.

Resources from more than 500 sources.

  1. 140+ national/regional/specialized newspapers
  2. 140+ national/specialized periodicals
  3. 30+ newswires
  4. 30+ stats, marketing, research information
  5. 40+ International source
  6. Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
  7. Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.

Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.


Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Collections include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection;  Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange;  British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular culture.
OAIster Harvester
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Oberlin College Song Index
Index of 53,000+ songs in anthologies held by the Oberlin Conservatory Library.
Oberlin Evangelist (1838-1862)
Oberlin College newspaper through which President Charles G. Finney expressed his theology.
Oberlin Review (1874-2012)
Oberlin College student newspaper.
Oberlin's Supplementary LP Record Catalog
The Supplementary LP Recording Catalog contains access to recordings cataloged prior to 1976 not otherwise included in OBIS. The listing below includes composers, performers, titles and subjects interfiled. When critical information was included on the backs of cards, the verso was also scanned in the preservation process.
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.
OECD iLibrary
Reports, datasets, journal articles, and statistics on international economics, policy, health and social issues published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Dates of Coverage: 1998 to date
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection
5,000+ photos dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity on forest ecosystems. 

Ohio Capitol Connection
Information about current and past legislation of the Ohio General Assembly. Updated daily, it has the complete status and full text of bills introduced in the Ohio General Assembly.
Dates of coverage: 1989 to date
OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons (DRC)


OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)
The OhiolINK Electronic Book Center contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center ( EJC)
Scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences,and natural sciences, as well as engineering.
OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations
Doctoral dissertations, masters theses, and honors papers by students at OhioLINK member colleges and universities.
OhioLINK Library Catalog
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio?s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK?s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
Open Access Theses & Dissertations
Freely available masters theses and doctoral dissertations from around the world.
Oxford African American Studies Center
African American and African history and culture including biographies, topical entries, primary source documents with commentary, images, maps, charts, tables, and more.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
- 15 English translations of the Bible
- Reference sources (bible dictionaries and encyclopedias)
- Images of biblical scenes, characters and settings
- Maps
- Useful “Tools & Resources” such as Parallel Texts, Index of Women, etc.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography The online version of the 60-volume print reference set Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (2004). Provides essays about the lives of noteworthy and influential men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Over 50,000 deceased individuals from all walks of life are included, along with over 10,000 portrait illustrations. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre. In addition to native Britons, the work includes people born abroad who spent a significant part of their lives in Britain, visitors who were important observers of British life, Britons who lived in Europe and played a significant part in the lives of their new countries, British-born people active in the empire, along with critics of imperial rule, and Americans from first settlement to independence.

Dates of Coverage: 4th c. B.C.E. -- 2001

Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).


Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes Qur'anic studies resources, including two translations of the Qur\'an, a concordance, primary source documents with editorial introductions, timelines, and images. 

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Authoritative and comprehensive English bilingual dictionaries online for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish.
Oxford Music Online
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Oxford Reference
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press. Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.

These books are also available at the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.


PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915-


PapersFirst
Indexes papers presented at meetings around the world.
Dates of coverage: 1993 to date
Patrologia Latina

The works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.  Covers most major and minor Latin authors; contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.


Peace Research Abstracts
Covers all areas related to peace research, including war and conflict, international relations, arms control, the military, diplomacy, international law and conventions, nations and national policies, and international organizations.  Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, government publications, dissertations, significant speeches and conferences, pamphlets, and newsletters.

Dates of Coverage: 1964-

Periodicals Archive Online
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
Periodicals Index Online
Citations for articles in 6000+ periodicals spanning a wide range of dates, subjects, and places, in over 40 languages.
Dates of coverage: 1665-1995
Philosopher's Index
Indexes books, anthologies, and articles from 300+ journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Dates of Coverage: 1940-

PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. The service monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. PhilPapers' purpose is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research. 

Physical Education Index
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, books.
Dates of Coverage: 1970 to date
Plain Dealer (1845-1991)
Searchable full text access and scans of the Cleveland newspaper from April 07, 1845 to May 31, 1991
PLANTS Database
Standardized information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S., from the US Dept of Agriculture.
Polling the Nations

Provides the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ public opinion surveys by 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Dates of coverage:  1986 - present


Population Index
Population Index covers the world\'s demographic and population literature, indexing and summarizing more than 46,000 books, articles from approximately 400 journals, working papers, dissertations, and other materials on population and demography. Many other periodicals covering the biological, geographical, economic, and sociological literature are also indexed. You may either search or browse issues published back to Spring 1986 (Vol. 52 No. 1). Through JSTOR [return to Library home page or visit www.jstor.org], you may search or browse issues of Population Index published back to January 1935 (Vol. 1 No. 1).

Dates of Coverage: 1986 - 2000

Primary Search (for students grades K-5)
Provides access to more than 80 full-text magazines accessible to elementary school readers through the standard EBSCO interface.  Covers a wide range of subject areas.  Full text is also available for encyclopedia articles written specifically for kids and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology
Covers articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters and a variety of subject areas including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.

Dates of Coverage: 1940 - 2010
ProceedingsFirst
Indexes papers presented at conferences, meetings, symposia, etc.
Dates of coverage: 1993 to date
Project MUSE (partial access)
Note: Oberlin does not have access to the entire database.
Journals and books by university presses and scholarly societies; most subjects in the in the humanities and social sciences.

Projekt Dyabola
Lists journal articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations about classical Greek, Roman, early Christian, and Byzantine art and archaeology. The most comprehensive source for material on art of the ancient Western world and its environs.
 
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world. Previews and full text available for some titles.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Some tables available as Excel spreadsheets.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a robust database offering complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
PsycBOOKS
A full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.

Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video of demonstrations and counseling sessions on a host of therapeutic topics. A resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and education about psychology.
PsycINFO
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present


PubMed
MEDLINE (24 million citations in biomedical literature) plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
PubMed
The most comprehensive journal article index for medicine and health. Search it plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., plus National Library of Medicine catalog.

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Includes scholarly articles in all disciplines from journals and collections of articles in English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and many European languages.  Covers the various fields of Jewish studies and the study of the Southern Levant (roughly Israel, Palestinian territories, Jordan, and parts of Lebanon).

Dates of Coverage: 1966 to date
Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 to date )
Citations and abstracts for popular magazine articles on all subjects.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Indexing of articles in historical American popular magazines of all types.
Regional Business News
Regional Business News is a collection of full text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. In order to maintain the most current collection of news, this database contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources.

Dates of Coverage: Last 30 days.


Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides full text from more than 290 journals; covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Reproductive Physiology Animations
A collection of learning modules on human reproduction from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. The modules have animation, and some have sound.
RIdIM: Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale
Facilitates discovery of music iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines, with abstracts in English.

Dates of coverage: 1967-present.
RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature.

Dates of coverage: 18th century-1966
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
Citations to articles in scholarly and popular music periodicals. Contains more than 500,000 entries. Includes RIPM Online Archive, a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800 and 1950
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales

An international, cooperative effort to identify and describe the world's pre-1850 musical sources, to record what primary sources exist, and to identify their locations. These sources include manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.


Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Collection of manuscripts from the Wordsworth Trust with source material documenting British Romaniticism; includes working notebooks, verse manuscripts, fine art pieces, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums,and maps. Also includes correspondence of William Wordsworth, Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Indexing and abstracts of more than 12,500 publications including journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe. Subjects include arts, humanities, science, social sciences.
Dates of coverage: 1980 to date
Safari Books Online
E-books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Includes many programming langauge manuals from O'Reilly, Pearson, and others.
Sage Knowledge
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides and handbooks from a range of social science fields.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Three bibliographic databases combined: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
Saskia Art History Images
What: 1,000+ images commonly used to teach Western Art
When: Pre-history to contemporary
Where: Primarily Europe & North America
Media: All media
Note: Primary source
Note: See also ARTstor
Note: Includes images from these textbooks: Gardner, Art Through the Ages.; Stokstad, History of Art.; Hartt, History of Italian Renaissance Art.

Science Citation Index (via Web of Science)
Indexing and abstracts of millions of peer-reviewed articles in all scientific disciplines.  Also includes technical reports, book chapters, conference papers and other formats.  Cited and citing reference searching.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database provides access to articles, books, news reports, obituaries, motion picture reviews and other material about science fiction and fantasy. Some coverage of horror, gothic and utopian literature is included. Fiction, such as novels or short stories, is not indexed here. Book reviews are not indexed.

Dates of Coverage: 1878-

Science Online (via Facts on File)
Indepth introductory articles in all scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.  Articles are selected from a diverse collection of Facts on File encyclopedias and other reference sources.

SciFinder
Merges Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound data from CAS Registry, chemical reactions from CASReact, and Medline.  More information

Access requires individual registration, from oberlin.edu (on campus users only).  


Scripta Sinica
The project for the Scripta Sinica database began in 1984. The first aim of this project was to digitize all documents essential to research in traditional Sinology. Secondly, a full-text database was established for academic research. Until present, Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. More than 580 titles ?new titles?and 423,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.
Searchasaurus (for students grades K-5)
Offers a colorful, easy-to-use search interface to EBSCO databases for primary and elementary school students.  Includes magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to develop basic search methodologies.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Note: Access may be discontinued; contact library staff with questions.
Newspaper collections, books and scanned archival documents published in the antebellum era.
Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.  The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Social Explorer
Provides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science)
 
SocINDEX
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   

SPORTDiscus
Indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals.
Summon
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Contains all surviving ancient Greek texts from Homer (8th century BCE) through 600 CE, and a large number of texts from 600 to 1453. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2008)
Archive of the Times of London, with full page scans that are searchable by keyword.
The Times of India (1838-2004)
Contains scanned images of pages covering the historical backfile starting with the first issue, all in English.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Searchable tables of contents for nearly 200 classics, Near Eastern studies, and religion journals; check boxes allow simultaneous searching of some pre-1992 journals and essays in books.
Dates of coverage:  1992 to date
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
Full-text reports and documents produced by the U.S. House and Senate, broad coverage of topics in American political and social history.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed information on all types of serials published on all subjects throughout the world. It includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly, and that are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. Over 250,000 serial publications are listed, including magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, 'zines, and more. Also included are URLs, e-mail addresses, and reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Covers all aspects of urban studies, including city planning and architecture, community development, urban history, and more.
USDA PLANTS Database
Standardized information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S., from the US Dept of Agriculture.
USGS Publications Warehouse
United States Geological Survey publications.  All series and formats.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).



Vente et Gestion
Vente et Gestion provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others. Formerly French Business Source.
Vocational and Career Collection
Provides index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Track the journeys of over 67,000 Africans forced into slavery with this searchable database of passenger records from 35,000 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages.
Web of Science
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medince, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching.

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
 
Wilson & Reeder's Mammal Species of the World
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History hosts this database of mammalian taxonomy. Verify recognized scientific names and conduct taxonomic research.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
Women Writers Online
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Brown University Women Writers Project. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.

Women's Studies International
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.

Dates of Coverage: 1972-
World Book Advanced
World Book Advanced More than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research.

Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

WBW uses a powerful search engine that integrates encyclopedia articles, media, primary source documents, e-books, maps, and more in a single search.

Other special features: Timeline builder; Citation builder; Classroom activities, lesson plans, and discussion guides for every grade level; and Content correlated to state and provincial standards.


World News Connection (1995 - 2013)
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
World Shakespeare Bibliography
World Shakespeare Bibliography is a comprehensive record of scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and early modern England. The database is international in scope, representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia, listing items in more than 120 languages. It provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, films, audio recordings, and electronic media.

Dates of Coverage: 1960 -

WorldCat
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.  

Dates of Coverage: 1975--

Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP