Databases
ABCDEFG HIJKLMNOPRSTUVWZAll

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Has a special focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices, for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students.

GenBank
The NIH genetic sequence database; an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date

GenETHX: Genetics and Ethics Database
Covers the literature on ethics and public policy issues in genetics from journal and newspaper articles, books, book chapters, government reports, court decisions, bills, laws, and audiovisual materials. It indexes other diverse publication types, as well, such as book reviews, press releases, unpublished documents, position statements, and news items. Most materials are in English, although citations to materials in many other languages are included.
GeoRef
Indexes all topics in geoscience, in journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of Coverage: 1785-present

GeoScience World
Note: Subscribers & Oberlin users
Search and access full-text of 40 peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.   Includes also full-text of hundreds of technical and scholarly ebooks at ebooks.geoscienceworld.org.
GeoScienceWorld
Note: Subscribers & Oberlin users
Search and access full-text of 40 peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.   Includes also full-text of hundreds of technical and scholarly ebooks at ebooks.geoscienceworld.org.
Getty research portal
A multidisciplinary, multilingual catalog of fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogs, auction catalogs and related documents digitized by libraries and museums worldwide.  Texts may be downloaded and are digitized in their entirety. 
Global Plants
Community-contributed database in JSTOR of more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
GreenFILE
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles that examine environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Multidisciplinary, drawing on agriculture, education, law, health and technology sources.
Grove Art Online
Note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies.


Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Information on 4,000+ species; includes Amphibians, Birds, Fish, Insects, Invertebrates, Mammals and Reptiles; covers evolution, habitat, behavior, and range.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP