Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOP RSTUVWAll

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915-


PapersFirst
Indexes papers presented at meetings around the world.
Dates of coverage: 1993 to date
Patrologia Latina

The works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.  Covers most major and minor Latin authors; contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.


Peace Research Abstracts
Covers all areas related to peace research, including war and conflict, international relations, arms control, the military, diplomacy, international law and conventions, nations and national policies, and international organizations.  Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, government publications, dissertations, significant speeches and conferences, pamphlets, and newsletters.

Dates of Coverage: 1964-

Periodicals Archive Online
Full text access to hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Dates of coverage: 1802-2000
Periodicals Index Online
Citations for articles in 6000+ periodicals spanning a wide range of dates, subjects, and places, in over 40 languages.
Dates of coverage: 1665-1995
Philosopher's Index
Indexes books, anthologies, and articles from 300+ journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Dates of Coverage: 1940-

PhilPapers
A comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. The service monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. PhilPapers' purpose is to facilitate the exchange and development of philosophical research. 

Physical Education Index
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, books.
Dates of Coverage: 1970 to date
Plain Dealer (1845-1991)
Searchable full text access and scans of the Cleveland newspaper from April 07, 1845 to May 31, 1991
PLANTS Database
Standardized information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S., from the US Dept of Agriculture.
Polling the Nations

Provides the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ public opinion surveys by 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Dates of coverage:  1986 - present


Population Index
Population Index covers the world\'s demographic and population literature, indexing and summarizing more than 46,000 books, articles from approximately 400 journals, working papers, dissertations, and other materials on population and demography. Many other periodicals covering the biological, geographical, economic, and sociological literature are also indexed. You may either search or browse issues published back to Spring 1986 (Vol. 52 No. 1). Through JSTOR [return to Library home page or visit www.jstor.org], you may search or browse issues of Population Index published back to January 1935 (Vol. 1 No. 1).

Dates of Coverage: 1986 - 2000

Primary Search (for students grades K-5)
Provides access to more than 80 full-text magazines accessible to elementary school readers through the standard EBSCO interface.  Covers a wide range of subject areas.  Full text is also available for encyclopedia articles written specifically for kids and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology
Covers articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters and a variety of subject areas including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography.

Dates of Coverage: 1940 - 2010
ProceedingsFirst
Indexes papers presented at conferences, meetings, symposia, etc.
Dates of coverage: 1993 to date
Project MUSE (partial access)
Note: Oberlin does not have access to the entire database.
Journals and books by university presses and scholarly societies; most subjects in the in the humanities and social sciences.

Projekt Dyabola
Lists journal articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations about classical Greek, Roman, early Christian, and Byzantine art and archaeology. The most comprehensive source for material on art of the ancient Western world and its environs.
 
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world. Previews and full text available for some titles.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Some tables available as Excel spreadsheets.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a robust database offering complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
PsycBOOKS
A full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 490 peer-reviewed journals.

Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video of demonstrations and counseling sessions on a host of therapeutic topics. A resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and education about psychology.
PsycINFO
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present


PubMed
Public access to MEDLINE, the most comprehensive index for biomedical literature, plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP