Databases
1ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRS TUVWNumAllImages Audio VideoFull Text

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Safari Books Online
E-books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Includes many programming langauge manuals from O'Reilly, Pearson, and others.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970.


SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
A Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
Saskia Art History Images
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art. To view titles from textbooks follow the links below.

Science Citation Index (via Web of Knowledge)
 
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database provides access to articles, books, news reports, obituaries, motion picture reviews and other material about science fiction and fantasy. Some coverage of horror, gothic and utopian literature is included. Fiction, such as novels or short stories, is not indexed here. Book reviews are not indexed.

Dates of Coverage: 1878-

Science Online from Facts on File
A curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.

SciFinder
SciFinder includes Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound data from CAS Registry, chemical reactions from CASReact, Medline and more. 

Access requires individual registration. Register here (oberlin.edu users only).


SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales/Auction Catalogs
SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales/Auction Catalogs describes art and rare book sales and auction catalogs dating from the late 16th century to currently scheduled auctions that have not yet been held. SCIPIO is a joint project of 25 different fine arts organizations, combining their art catalog collections.

Records contain information on dates and places of sale, catalog title, the auction house, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Both North American and European auction houses and some private sales are included. SCIPIO provides bibliographic access to sources of art objects and rare books, the history of collecting, and contemporary and historical market trends.

Subjects: painting; sculpture; textiles.

Dates of Coverage: late 16th century-


Scopus
Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. Covers all subjects, with emphasis on natural sciences, engineering and technology.

Dates of Coverage: 1960-
Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students)
Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students) is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. Searchasaurus provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Lexile limiters allow searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved. Included is the Encyclopedia of Animals.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Note: Access may be discontinued in the near future; contact library staff if you have questions about it
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm. This first iteration, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, contains over 1.5 million searchable pages from more than 7,000, 80 serials, more than fifteen manuscript collections, & court records, as well as reference materials. Material published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions
Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Knowledge)
 
SocINDEX
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   

SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals.

Summon
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP