Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Annual Reviews
Critically reviews the most significant research literature in over 40 focused disciplines within the fields of biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. These reviews both summarize recent scholarly advances and prompt new research activity. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Indexes journal articles in the areas of criminology, corrections, prisons, substance abuse and addictions, criminal law, policing, criminal investigation, probation, and parole.
Data-Planet: Statistical Datasets
Large repository of harmonized datasets from a variety of sources, with global and time series coverage.  Datasets allow complete access to datasets using customizable tables, graphs and maps, with numerous output formats available (Excel, PDF, delimited text, SAS, SPSS, XML, Shapefile GIS).
Data-Planet: Statistical Ready-Reference
Large repository of harmonized datasets from a variety of sources, with global and time series coverage.  Data-Planet Statistical Ready-reference provides access to individual pre-set graphs of time series data for over 250,000 measures. Graphs draw from the most recent data available, and are easy for non-specialists to use.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more.

Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date

NCJRS Abstracts Database (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
Indexes and summarizes criminal justice publications, including books, journal articles, unpublished research, and federal, state, and local government reports.  Subject areas include corrections, courts, crime prevention, drugs, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victimology.
Dates of Coverage: 1970s to date
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date

Population Index (1986-2000)
Indexes books, journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and other materials on demography and population studies.  Other disciplines covered include biology, geography, economics, and sociology. For historical information, the complete publication back to 1935 is searchable in JSTOR.
Dates of Coverage: 1986 - 2000 [closed file, no longer updated]
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Indexes scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

Dates of Coverage: 1880s–present

Social Explorer
Provides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.
Social Sciences Citation Index (via Web of Science)
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   

Indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes publications covering key areas of relevance to urban studies, including city and regional planning, urban affairs, community development, urban history, architecture, and more.
Dates of coverage: 1973-present
Web of Science
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medince, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching.

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
Women's Studies International
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.

Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files

Back to TOP