Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWAll

19th Century British Newspapers
National and regional English, Scottish, Irish and Welsh. Stengths include coverage include political and social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule, and penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes.

Dates of Coverage: 1800s
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Full text searchable articles representing most US states. Includes searchable page scans of the originals.

Dates of Coverage: 1800-1899
 
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Access Newspaper Archive
Scanned newspapers from small- and medium-sized towns across the US with some international coverage. 
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience.
Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1: 1718-1876
Historical Caribbean newspapers most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish.
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. 
Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
Cleveland News Index
Citations to local news stories, feature articles and reviews from: Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999; Cleveland Magazine (1983- ); Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ); Ohio Magazine (1990- ). Includes obituaries since 1976.
Dates of Coverage: 1983 to date
Eastview Universal Databases
Note: Includes newspapers from China (in English) and Russia (in English and Russian)
Full-text of Russian newspapers and English-language sources Current Digest of the Chinese Press and Current Digest of the Russian Press.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America.
Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date
Factiva
Note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996)
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.
Index to Lorain County News, Oberlin Weekly News, and Oberlin News (1860-1940)
Searchable citations of historical articles in local newspapers.
Dates of Coverage: 1860-1940
Index to the Oberlin Observer (1979-1998)
Citations to articles in the newsletter for Oberlin College faculty and staff.
Left Index
Complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. 
LexisNexis Academic
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
The New York Times (1851-2010)
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.

 


Oberlin Evangelist (1838-1862)
Oberlin College newspaper through which President Charles G. Finney expressed his theology.
Oberlin Review (1874-2012)
Oberlin College student newspaper.
Plain Dealer (1845-1991)
Searchable full text access and scans of the Cleveland newspaper from April 07, 1845 to May 31, 1991
Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 to date )
Citations and abstracts for popular magazine articles on all subjects.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Indexing of articles in historical American popular magazines of all types.
Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2008)
Archive of the Times of London, with full page scans that are searchable by keyword.
The Times of India (1838-2004)
Contains scanned images of pages covering the historical backfile starting with the first issue, all in English.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).



World News Connection (1995 - 2013)
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP