Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWAll

Access Science
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
ACO Music Data Analysis
A single search of international charting albums and singles from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to a wide variety of audio samples.
Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds
More than 30,000 digitized recordings of over 1000 species of animals from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics at The Ohio State University.

DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music includes over 1,200 CDs (7,500 compositions). The basis for the current collection is the diverse catalogue of American music recordings by New World Records.
Factiva
Note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.

Lynda.com
Note: Contact cit@oberlin.edu for access to Lynda.com
Online software training site. Some tutorials are freely available, others require a subscription.

Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Contains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children’s Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare’s Plays. New titles are added every month.
OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons (DRC)


Reproductive Physiology Animations
A collection of learning modules on human reproduction from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. The modules have animation, and some have sound.
Smithsonian Global Sound
A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.  The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Summon
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.

Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP