Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWAll

A to Z Maps
High quality, printable maps of all types including topographical, climate, historical, political, and thematic.
AAPG Datapages Archives
American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, plus content from 40 other publishers and societies.  Access provided by alumnus Lawrence W. Funkhouser.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Access Science
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
ACS Journals
American Chemical Society; current online subcriptions plus the archive of 1879-1995 ACS journals.  

Ad*Access (1911-1955)
Print advertising images from U.S. and Canadian publications;  organized by product category: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Aluka
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.

American West
Includes manuscripts, maps, and images that document the development of the western United States.
Ancestry - Library Edition
Note: Access to Ancestry - Library Edition is limited to on-campus users only
Genealogical research tool containing census data, vital and military records, immigration records, court documents, directories, and more.
Annual Reviews
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Art Slides - Oberlin College Art Department

A growing database of images selected by Art Dept. faculty to support instruction.  Primarily architecture, sculpture, painting, and other media from various art historical periods. 

Oberlin College educational use only.   Redistribution off campus prohibited.


ARTstor
Over 1 million images selected to support research and teaching in art history from pre-history to contemporary media. The quality of images may vary.

Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
Black Studies Center
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Dolphin Embryo Microscopic Slides
Scanned images of histological sections, with many sections per single embryo.
Early Encounters in North America
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations
600 videos of physics experiments, augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. Each video illustrates a particular principle of physics.
Factiva
Note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. 
Film & Television Literature Index
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias  in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.

Grove Art Online
Note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies; Covers art broadly defined (traditional & new media, decorative arts, performance, dance, ritual, jewelry, etc.) worldwide from pre-history to the present.


Literary Reference Center Plus
Information on thousands of authors and works, including: plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies, interviews and images; and book reviews.

 


Mammal Species of the World
Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History hosts this database of mammalian taxonomy. Verify recognized scientific names and conduct taxonomic research.
Maya Archeology Digital Photographs
A collection of digital photographs of Maya archeological sites in Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala.

Meiji Japan: The Edward Morse Collection from Peabody Essex Museum

Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Collections include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection;  Asia and the West: Diplomacy and cultural exchange;  British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular culture.
OAIster Harvester
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection
5,000+ photos dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity on forest ecosystems. 

OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons (DRC)


Oxford Music Online
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
PLANTS Database
Standardized information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S., from the US Dept of Agriculture.
RIdIM: RĂ©pertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale
Facilitates discovery of music iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970
Saskia Art History Images
What: 1,000+ images commonly used to teach Western Art
When: Pre-history to contemporary
Where: Primarily Europe & North America
Media: All media
Note: Primary source
Note: See also ARTstor
Note: Includes images from these textbooks: Gardner, Art Through the Ages.; Stokstad, History of Art.; Hartt, History of Italian Renaissance Art.

Science Online (via Facts on File)
Indepth introductory articles in all scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.  Articles are selected from a diverse collection of Facts on File encyclopedias and other reference sources.

Summon
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.

USGS Publications Warehouse
United States Geological Survey publications.  All series and formats.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP