Databases
ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWAll

Access Science
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Ambrose Video
More than 500 HD streaming videos for humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; includes the complete BBC Shakespeare, A History of Civil Rights in America, and the Miracle of the Human Body series.  Closed captioning provided.

American History in Video
Digital streaming videos including documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos, with searchable video transcripts.
Black Studies Center
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes.

Dates of Coverage: 1991-

Educational Films & Documentaries
Full-length educational videos covering a wide variety of subjects. The collection currently includes videos from two distributors, Ambrose Video and Films for the Humanities & Sciences.
Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations
600 videos of physics experiments, augmented by slow-motion photography and animation. Each video illustrates a particular principle of physics.
Factiva
Note: Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Includes 20,000+ full text global news and business sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and photos from Reuters . Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.
Foreign Language Video Instruction
A collection of  video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Each video clip is accompanied by a description, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. Videos are available in QuickTime format. Produced by the ViewPoints Project of the Five Colleges of Ohio consortium.
Lynda.com
Note: Contact cit@oberlin.edu for access to Lynda.com
Online software training site. Some tutorials are freely available, others require a subscription.

Metropolitan Opera on Demand
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons (DRC)


Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video of demonstrations and counseling sessions on a host of therapeutic topics. A resource for teaching and training in psychotherapy practice and education about psychology.
Reproductive Physiology Animations
A collection of learning modules on human reproduction from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. The modules have animation, and some have sound.
Science Online (via Facts on File)
Indepth introductory articles in all scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.  Articles are selected from a diverse collection of Facts on File encyclopedias and other reference sources.

Summon
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).



Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Back to TOP