Click for more information about a database.
|A to Z Maps
Animal & plant distribution maps -- Antique maps -- Bible maps -- Canada maps -- Climate change maps -- Current event maps -- Earthquake maps -- Education-teaching tools -- Environmental maps -- Flags of the world -- Geography databases -- Geology maps -- GIS data -- Glossaries -- Google Earth -- Hurricane maps -- Map games & puzzles -- Modern map collection -- NASA maps -- Software -- USA maps -- Volcano maps -- Weather maps
|AAPG Datapages Archives
Note: Subscribers & Oberlin users
American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, plus content from 40 other publishers and societies. Access provided by alumnus Lawrence W. Funkhouser.
|Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed. 2007 plus updates.
OBIS record for print edition. Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007 vols.1-20
American Chemical Society; current online subcriptions plus the archive of 1879-1995 ACS journals.
o Advertising Images from 1911-1955
o Arranged by theme: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II
An online digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
|Ancestry - Library Edition
Note: Access to Ancestry - Library Edition is limited to on-campus users only
An important genealogical database which allows users to search census data, vital and military records, immigration records, court documents, directories, photos, and more in one comprehensive resource.
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Topically focused collections of historical documents.
What: Hundreds of thousands of images for teaching & researching art.
When: Pre-history to contemporary
Media: All media
Note: Quality of images vary widely.
Note: See also Saskia Art History Images
|Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
|Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender, as well as in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more.
|Dolphin Embryo Microscopic Slides
Scanned images of histological sections, with many sections per single embryo.
|Early Encounters in North America
Over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
|Encyclopedia of Physics Demonstrations
Contains 600 videos of physics experiments, augmented by slow-motion photography and animation.
Includes 20,000+ full text global news and business sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and photos from Reuters . Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.
|Film & Television Literature Index
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
|Gale Virtual Reference Library|
|Geology Digital Photographs
Geology Digital Photographs is a collection of photos depicting natural features and the human impact on environments around the world.
|Grove Art Online
What: More essays on more topics than any other English language art encyclopedia; good bibliographies.
|Lake Erie’s Yesterdays (digital photos)
A collection of historic photographs of northwestern Ohio, documenting the local history of the Erie Islands and Lake Erie’s western basin. These black and white images were produced by Sandusky, Ohio, commerical photographer Ernst Niebergall between 1909 and 1915.
|Literary Reference Center Plus
Information on thousands of authors and works, including: plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies, interviews and images; and book reviews.
|Mammal Species of the World
Wilson and Reeder's Mammal Species of the World, hosted by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. Provides complete taxonomic hierarchy for each species.
|Maya Archeology Digital Photographs
A collection of digital photographs of Maya archeological sites in Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala.
|National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center provides a collection of digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation. The collection includes abolitionist broadsheets, photographs by Matthew Brady, letters and speeches of President Lincoln and other presidents, and other historic letters, documents, and pictures.
|Naxos Music Library|
|Naxos Music Library Jazz|
|Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Subjects covered include: British politics and society; European literature 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British theatre, music, and literature: high and popular Culture
Includes a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
|Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection
Includes more than 5,000 photos dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity on forest ecosystems. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
|OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons (DRC)
|Oxford Music Online|
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S.
|RIdIM: Répertoire International d'Iconographie Musicale|
|Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Dates of Coverage: 1867-1970.
|Saskia Art History Images
What: 1,000+ images commonly used to teach Western Art
When: Pre-history to contemporary
Where: Primarily Europe & North America
Media: All media
Note: Primary source
Note: See also ARTstor
Note: Includes images from these textbooks: Gardner, Art Through the Ages.; Stokstad, History of Art.; Hartt, History of Italian Renaissance Art.
|Science Online from Facts on File
An overview of a range of scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.
Searches more than 300 million items - books, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, data, digital audio, digital video, digital images, government documents and more. It draws from the library catalog (OBIS), many of the full text and article indexing databases, as well as digital repositories from colleges, universities, research centers, and other open-access archives on the web.
|USGS Publications Warehouse
United States Geological Survey publications.
|Wright Brothers Digital Photographs
Wright Brothers Collection is a collection of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane, the lives of the Wright Family, and the Wrights' flying exhibitions in Europe and the United States. The collection provides thorough coverage of the Wrights' early inventive period documenting their early gliders and flight testing in both North Carolina and Ohio.
= Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
= OpenURL Enabled
= Some full text
= Video files
= Audio files