Always start with the museum's publications -- as described in this guide -- to research an AMAM artwork.
See also the Allen Memorial Art Museum: Artworks guide for additional research tools.
See also the Allen Memorial Art Museum: Artworks guide for additional research tools.
Allen Memorial Art Museum (AMAM)
- Official web site for the museum
- Mouse over "Collections"; drag to Search the Collection for the eMuseum (described below)
- "Search:" box (top right) searches entire site; can lead to useful information not in the eMuseum
- Official web site for the museum
- Mouse over "Collections"; drag to Search the Collection for the eMuseum (described below)
- "Search:" box (top right) searches entire site; can lead to useful information not in the eMuseum
Allen Memorial Art Museum: Highlights from the Collection.
Print Location: Art Library & Art Ref. N650 .A52 2011 (several copies)
- New essays for selected objects
- No bibliographies
- Includes recent acquisitions
Print Location: Art Library & Art Ref. N650 .A52 2011 (several copies)
- New essays for selected objects
- No bibliographies
- Includes recent acquisitions
Catalogue of Drawings and Watercolors in the Allen Memorial Art Museum....
Print Location: Art Ref. NC 25 .O25 O256
- Drawings & watercolors acquired up to 1976
Print Location: Art Ref. NC 25 .O25 O256
- Drawings & watercolors acquired up to 1976
- Unique essays for many objects
Catalogue of European and American Paintings and Sculpture in the Allen Memorial Art Museum....
Print Location: Art Ref. N 650 .A57
Print Location: Art Ref. N 650 .A57
- Paintings & sculptures acquired up to 1967
- Unique essays for many objects
- Unique essays for many objects
eMuseum
(Mouse over "Collections" then drag to Search the Collection)
-Most comprehensive list--not always the most comprehensive information-- about objects in the Allen's collection
-Check the other AMAM catalog (listed here) as well.
Prints in the Allen Memorial Art Museum: Catalog
Print Location: Art Ref. N 650.A575 1988
- A checklist of prints owned by the museum as of 1988
- Checklist in a ring binder; no essays or bibliographies
(Mouse over "Collections" then drag to Search the Collection)
-Most comprehensive list--not always the most comprehensive information-- about objects in the Allen's collection
-Check the other AMAM catalog (listed here) as well.
Prints in the Allen Memorial Art Museum: Catalog
Print Location: Art Ref. N 650.A575 1988
- A checklist of prints owned by the museum as of 1988
- Checklist in a ring binder; no essays or bibliographies
To make an appointment to see the Curatorial files:
Contact Liliana Milkova, Curator of Academic Programs, at liliana.milkova@oberlin.edu or ext. 58645
o Must be made at least 3 business days in advance
o Limited to one hour
o Maximum of 10 files per appointment
Search keyword for the phrase "allen memorial art museum."

-Contains over 100 titles.
-It's possible to either:
1) Browse the titles or
2) Select Modify/Limit
and a very general keyword:

-Contains over 100 titles.
-It's possible to either:
1) Browse the titles or
2) Select Modify/Limit

- Published since 1949
- Includes articles about objects owned by the museum
- All volumes and issues have been digitized. Each page has its own pdf; a pdf for the entire issue is also available at the end of the page list. To search the contents of an entire issue:
> Download the pdf for the entire issue (at the end of the list)
> Use Adobe Acrobat Reader's "search" feature
Two indexes exist:
1. A printed index covering the following years is shelved with the bound volumes of the Bulletin:
Index to volumes 1-10 (1944-53)
Index to volumes 11-20 (1953-63)
Index to volumes 21-30 (1964-73)
2. Also indexed by Art Full Text (1985 - ) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
> Enter "allen museum" and select SO Journal Name from the drop-down menu:

> Enter your artist (or period, style, object, etc.) in the second search box.
> Results will all be from the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
Less is more:
For best results enter broad categories (ex: painting) or a single word (ex:Turner rather than Joseph Mallord William Turner) or variant spellings (ex: saltcellar or salt cellar)
- Includes articles about objects owned by the museum
- All volumes and issues have been digitized. Each page has its own pdf; a pdf for the entire issue is also available at the end of the page list. To search the contents of an entire issue:
> Download the pdf for the entire issue (at the end of the list)
> Use Adobe Acrobat Reader's "search" feature
Two indexes exist:
1. A printed index covering the following years is shelved with the bound volumes of the Bulletin:
Index to volumes 1-10 (1944-53)
Index to volumes 11-20 (1953-63)
Index to volumes 21-30 (1964-73)
2. Also indexed by Art Full Text (1985 - ) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
> Enter "allen museum" and select SO Journal Name from the drop-down menu:

> Enter your artist (or period, style, object, etc.) in the second search box.
> Results will all be from the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
Less is more:
For best results enter broad categories (ex: painting) or a single word (ex:Turner rather than Joseph Mallord William Turner) or variant spellings (ex: saltcellar or salt cellar)
Schedule a Research Appointment with the Art Librarian
Writing resources for Art History webguide (including information about the Art Writing tutors in the Art Library)
Pronunciation sites
.jpg)
Writing resources for Art History webguide (including information about the Art Writing tutors in the Art Library)
Pronunciation sites
.jpg)