Additional help
Schedule a Research Appointment with the Art Librarian

Writing resources for Art History
 webguide (including information about the Art Writing tutors in the Art Library)

Finding Primary Sources in OBIS

Pronunciation (audio)

   
 
Allen Memorial Art Museum (AMAM)
See our Allen Memorial Art Museum web guide for information about:
  • Catalogs of the AMAM collection
  • Locating AMAM publications in OBIS
  • Searching the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin In Art Full Text (1984 - present) & Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984)

Art web guides by period or culture
The Allen Memorial Art Museum collections cover many periods, cultures and media. The resources in this guide are useful for researching many – but not all -- of the objects in the museum. Please see the other Art Library Research Guides for more focused resources:
Fact Checking: Dates, Names, Places
Union List of Artists' Names (ULAN)  - For alternate names and spellings
Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) - For place names and their variants
Timeline of Art History - Includes images
Images
Museums with online collections
Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY, NY
British museum
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Great Art Online
- Searches only art-related websites, (ex: museums, galleries, artists, etc. )
- See also useful list of “museums with fine art collections and an online presence”
- 9,000 artists, 2,900 web sites, 160,000 links (as of Dec 2012)

 ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and teaching in art history from pre-history to contemporary media. The quality of images may vary.

Joconde: French museum collections
From the Joconde main menu select Recherche avancée 
- "object files" from 140+ museums across France
- images provided for works in the public domain (over 50% of records)
- Select "avec image" for records with images
- allows sophisticated subject searching (in French)

The Art Book
Art Ref. N 40 .A775 1994
- Great way to quickly see a wide variety of western art 
- Each page is a full color reproduction of a work of art
- Bottom of every page: very brief text about the artist & references to similar styles and movements
- 500 artists from medieval to modern times
- For a similar treatment of twentieth-century western art, see The 20th-Century Art Book (Art Ref. N 6490 .T85 1996).  

All Items by Source Type

Biographical Sources

Dictionary of Artists (a.k.a. "Benezit")
Print Location: Art Ref. N 40 .D5213 2006 vols. 1-10
- Most comprehensive artist biographical dictionary available in English 
- Includes painters, sculptors, designers and graphic artists from 5 B.C. to the present.
- Longer entries list prizes won by the artist and museums where their works can be found.
- Auction results listed for or select works
- Vol. 1 has a historical currency conversion chart
- Many entries include facsimiles of signatures
- Monograms are listed at the end of each letter of the alphabet
       
OBIS record

Index to artistic biography (a.k.a. "Havlice")
Print Location: Art Ref. N 40 .H38 (1973; 1981; 2002)
- Indexes 265 biographical dictionaries published from 1902 - early 2000s in three editions (1973, 1981 & 2002)
- identifies biographies of over 2,000 artists
- Excludes artists covered in Benezit (Art N 40 .B47; 1960-66 ed.), Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers (Art N 40 .B94 1903a), Thieme-Becker (Art N 40 .T4) and Vollmer (Art N 40 .T412)
OBIS record
Who's Who in the Classical World Restricted Resource
- Ancient biography
- Greek and Roman history, politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art 
- Longer entries explain major historical and cultural themes in antiquity, centered round individuals

Databases

Art Full Text (1984 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art.  There is some full-text from 1995 to date.

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) Restricted Resource
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art. 

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and teaching in art history from pre-history to contemporary media. The quality of images may vary.

Encyclopedias

Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies; Covers art broadly defined (traditional & new media, decorative arts, performance, dance, ritual, jewelry, etc.) worldwide from pre-history to the present.


note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias
Who's Who in Classical Mythology
Print Location: Art Ref. BL715.G68 1993


Who's Who in the Classical World Restricted Resource
- Ancient biography
- Greek and Roman history, politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art 
- Longer entries explain major historical and cultural themes in antiquity, centered round individuals

Iconography

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Print Location: Art Ref. N 7560 .H34 2008
- Themes common in western art from the Renaissance and later
- Esp. strong in classical and/or Christian themes
- Concepts covered include: 
  > persons and personifications
  > objects, especially attributes
  > common events (e.g., The Raising of Lazarus)

Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
Print Location: Art Ref. NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
- Lists occurances of Greek and Roman mythological figures in 30,000+ western european and north american visual and performing arts
- Late Middle Ages to the end of the 20th century
- Entries briefly describe the mythological figure or theme, note classical sources, and chronologically notes its appearance in the fine arts, music, dance and literature

Who's Who in the New Testament
Print Location: Art Ref. BS2430.B67 1993


Who's who in the Old Testament Together with the Apocrypha
Print Location: Art Ref. BS570.C64 1993


Primary Sources

Early Greek Myth: A guide to Literary and Artistic Sources
Print Location: Art Ref. BL782.G34 1993
OBIS record

Perseus Project Resource contains images
Includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.
OBIS record

Back to TOP