All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

Atlas of Classical Archaeology
Print Location: Art Ref. G 1046 .E15 A8 1977
OBIS

Atlas of the Greek World
Print Location: Main Oversize DF77.L43 Resource contains images
OBIS record
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection Resource contains images
Online historical map collection with over 25,000 maps and images. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Historical Maps Resource contains images
Collection of historic maps which have been digitized by the University of Texas at Austin. The maps are listed by place name.

Background & Context Sources

Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Print Location: Main Ref. BL715.G713 1985
OBIS record
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae
Print Location: Art Ref. N7760.L49 1981 vols. 2 pt.1 - 6 pt. 2
OBIS record
Mythology: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
Print Location: Art BL311.M95
.OBIS record

Biographical Sources

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN)
* All known name variations for artists & architects worldwide from Antiquity to the present
* “Preferred” name is indicated
* Includes firms, cooperatives, groups, etc

Databases

Art Full Text (1984 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Art Full Text
- Articles from 350 art magazines & journals
-  Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide
- Index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin

Art Full Text (1984 - current) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Art Index Retrospective
 (1929-1984)

- Articles rom 350 art magazines & journals
- Pre-history to contemporary art worldwide
- Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
- Hundreds of thousands of images for teaching & researching art
- Global coverage

DYABOLA Restricted Resource
DYABOLA covers classical Greek and Roman art and archaeology with some material on the Ancient Near East. Includes books, essays in books, journal articles, and dissertations on Ancient Greek, Roman and Near Eastern, Byzantine, Early Christian and Etruscan art and archaeology.
FastiOnline: A database of archaelogical excavations since the year 2000
Between 1946 and 1987 the International Association for Classical Archaeology (AIAC) published the Fasti Archaeologici. It contained very useful summary notices of excavations throughout the area of the Roman Empire. However, spiraling costs and publication delays combined to render it less and less useful. AIACs board of directors thus decided in 1998 to discontinue the publication and to seek a new way of recording and diffusing new results. The Fasti Online is the result of this effort.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Search full-text articles in core scholarly journals throughout multiple fields.
  • It's an archive: most titles lack entries from the past 2-5 years.

Encyclopedias

Brill's New Pauly; Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Print Location: Main Ref. DE5 .N3513 2002 vols.1-10
OBIS record
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome
Print Location: Main Ref. & Art Ref. DE59.C55 1988 vols. 1-3
OBIS record
Enciclopedia dell'Arte Antica, Classica, e Orientale
Print Location: Art N31 .E48 vols. 1-7
Covers ancient art and archaeology from prehistory to c500 AD.
Mediterranean (Europe, N. Africa, Asia and Ethiopia) Entries on places, artists, and subjects, most Richly illustrated with photographs chosen expressly for quality Signed articles by over 200 scholars.
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Some full text available
o Essays about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts
o Covers the Fine Arts,  Literature, Music, Theater, Dance, Television, Film, and Popular culture
o Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art dictionaries / encyclopedias that may be searched separately or simultaneously

Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

- Most comprehensive art & architecture encyclopedia available in English
- Global: country by country surveys of important artists, architects, media, cities, movements, periods, etc. from pre-history to the present
- Artists, architects,  styles, religions, philosophies, and theories
- Fine art, architecture, new media, decorative arts, performance, dance, ritual, jewelry, etc.
- Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art dictionaries / encyclopedias that may be searched separately or simultaneously


note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Restricted Resource
Print Location:  Art Ref. N5610 .G76 2007  vols. 1-2 
Based on its 1996 predecessor -- the 34-volume Dictionary of Art, ed. by Jane Turner -- the articles for The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture have been updated (both text and bibliography), re-edited, and re-worked by Campbell so as to render them his creations. (That is why none of the entries bear the names of the original authors.) One cannot speak too highly of this publication; it is a fundamental resource. A substantial thematic index completes the work.
OBIS record
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Print Location: Art Ref. DE5 .O9 2003
OBIS record

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilizations Restricted Resource
"Drawing on the latest edition of the higly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine."
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World Restricted Resource
Also based on the Oxford Classical Dictionary, this title presents 2,500 entries in a more accessible form.
Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites
Print Location: Art Ref. DE59.P7
OBIS record
Who's Who in Classical Mythology
Print Location: Art Ref. BL715.G68 1993


Who's Who in the Classical World Restricted Resource
- Ancient biography
- Greek and Roman history, politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art 
- Longer entries explain major historical and cultural themes in antiquity, centered round individuals

Handbooks & Guides

Images

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum Resource contains images
The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum, an international multi-volume series, is the fundamental source in the field of ancient vase painting. Begun in 1922, it has as its goal the publication of all known collections of ancient vases of all periods, shapes, styles, and functions. So far fascicules have appeared on collections in Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark (and the DDR), Greece, France, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Czechoslovakia, the United States, and Yugoslavia, each written by a different author. Each fascicle contains either loose (in a portfolio) or bound plates and a text block with full descriptions of the vases and references to other sources. In 2004 the Beazley Archive at Oxford University digitized the out of print volumes of the CVA. Additional volumes are being added slowly. In 2007 100,000 objects were in the database.
OBIS record

Mythological and Classical World Art Index
Print Location: Art Ref. N7760.R63 1991
OBIS record

The Beazley Archive Resource contains images
The Beazley Archive provides access to many of the drawings and notes of the famous scholar of Greek painted pottery, Sir John Beazley. It also offers a useful Dictionary containing "illustrated explanations of names, technical terms, and other vocabulary relating to Greek history, myth, geography, art, and architecture" and hosts other ancient Greek and Roman databases, such as:
The Pottery Database - text and image database of Athenian black- and red-figure pottery ca 625-300 B.C. including 1500 drawings by Sir Beazley of Athenian pottery. In 2007, the pottery database had "150,000 records and 130,000 images."
Sculpture - Divided into "Casts Database" and "Sculpture Inscriptions Database"
Merged databases - Search the Beazely Pottery and the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (see below) databases simultaneously.
OBIS record

Primary Sources

Early Greek Myth: A guide to Literary and Artistic Sources
Print Location: Art Ref. BL782.G34 1993
OBIS record

Perseus Project Resource contains images
Includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.
OBIS record

Topographical Guides

A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome
Print Location: Art Ref. DG68.R5 1992

     Detailed entries, occasionally accompanied by maps or diagrams, make this an excellent resource for the study of Classical Roman structures.  Entries include bibliographic references.  A glossary, a chronological list of dated monuments, preface, introduction, and the section of bibliographical notes and abbreviations add to the value of Richardson's Dictionary. Complemented by Platner and Ashby's A Topographical dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Ref. DG 16 .P685) and Nash's Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Ref. NA 310 .N28 1961).  Updated and expanded by Steinby (Art Ref. DG 63 .L49 1993)                                                                                    [BQP 8/27/04]
OBIS record


Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae
Print Location: Art Ref. DG63 .L49 1993 vols. 1-6
     For the most complete and up-to-date survey of the monuments of Rome Steinby's Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae is indispensable. Specialists wrote the essays so they have a depth and length that cannot be matched by its single author antecedents (i.e., Richardson’s A new topographical dictionary of ancient Rome, Art Ref. DG 68 .R5 1992; Platner & Ashby’s A topographical dictionary of ancient Rome, Art Ref. DG 16 .P685). 
     Articles take the following basic format: A general definition and description of the site is followed by citations to and analysis of all known relevant ancient texts. Then follows a history of the monument and the site up to the 20th century, emphasizing issues of interest to scholars and changes in use. Surviving remains are described as are reconstructions. References to illustrations (found throughout the 5 vol. set) are in the margins throughout. The bibliography at then end of each entry usually covers only the last 25 years, but occasionally goes back into the 16th or 17th centuries.
     The Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae presents two principal difficulties for undergraduates: the text is predominately Italian (with occasional articles in French, German or English) and the illustrations are disappointing. (For the latter reason Nash’s Pictorial dictionary of ancient Rome --Art Ref. NA 310 .N28 1961 – is still of use.) Steinby’s content and arrangement are different from its predecessors: Early Christian monuments are included (if dated before the 7th century) and the articles are arranged by the name of the divinity for religious monuments (whether pagan or Christian), or by building type (e.g., Basilica, etc.) for secular structures. Since some structures do not appear where expected in this arrangement persistence is required.
     Thus for most undergraduate work Richardson and it’s antecedents (Nash, Platner & Ashby) are preferable; they are in English, have a similar arrangement and content, and provide reliable information. However Richardson’s work is not as thorough and complete (i.e., not as many monuments are covered and only selected ancient sources are cited) or authoritative as Steinby.                                                [Summary of 3 reviews, BQP 8/26/04]
OBIS record

Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens
Print Location: Art Ref. NA280.T68
     John Travlos' dictionary arranges the monuments, ruins and areas of ancient Athens alphabetically. Bibliographical references are provided within the text. In addition, there is a chronological index to monuments with known dates.                                      [BQP 8/23/01, MJR 2/14/02]
OBIS record

Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome
Print Location: Art Ref. NA310 .N28 1961 vols. 1-2
     Rome's monuments, ruins, areas, etc. including architectural ornament, sculptural decoration and inscriptions. Illustrated; the essays have extensive bibliographies. 
Updates, expands and revises Platner's A Topographical dictionary of ancient Rome (Art Ref. DG 16 .P685).  
Updated and expanded by Steinby (Art Ref. DG 63 .L49 1993)                                                          [BQP 8/27/04]
OBIS record

Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome (1929)
Print Location: Main & Art Ref. DG16.P685
     Referred to by it's authors, "Platner and Ashby" is a standard for studying Rome's monuments and overall plan. All monuments, ruins, and areas, are included even those now lost.  The bibliographies list scholarship and all relevant ancient texts. A chronological index lists monuments by known dates.
    Supplemented but not entirely superceded by Nash (NA 310 .N28 1961) and Richardson (DG 68 .R5 1992
). Updated and expanded by Steinby (Art Ref. DG 63 .L49 1993) The text of Platner and Ashby has also been digitized and is part of the Perseus Digital Library.                                     [BQP 7Feb'13] 
OBIS record

Web Sites
ABZU: A Guide to Information Related to the Study of the Ancient Near East on the Web.
Athenian Agora: Guide
* Map and interactive guide to the buildings and monuments
* Includes 3-D simulations
DIOTIMA: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
Prehistoric Archaeology of the Aegean

A web site for a class of the same name taught at Dartmouth
Ancient Art and Architecture in Delicious
  See also the following tags on the Art Library delicious page. Tags can be "stacked" to refine a broader concept; tag1: ancient tg2: greece
Aegean
Ancient Texts
Archaeology
Classical
Egypt
Greece
Mesopotamia

Pompeii
Rome/Roman Empire
Loeb Classical Library
Loeb Classical Library
Main Library: call numbers vary
Collected works of classical Greek and Latin authors with an English translation on facing pages.

To find an author or title in this series search OBIS for the title "Loeb Classical."

To limit your search, use this button at the top of the page:


Use the drop-down menu at the bottom of the screen to enter your author or title:
Back to TOP