All Items by Source Type

Biographical Sources

Contemporary architects
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 680 .C625 1994b & Art NA 680.C6255 1987
OBIS record
o   20th c. architects
o   Most buildings are in the USA
o   Chronological list of works
o   Writings by and about the architect
o   Usually a statement by or interview excerpt

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 40 .M25 1982 vols. 1-4
OBIS record
o   Standard architectural history resource
o   2,400 architects, planners, engineers, designers, landscape architects, & firms

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN)
All known name variations for artists & architects worldwide
“Preferred” name is indicated
Includes firms, cooperatives, groups, etc.

Databases

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) Restricted Resource
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering 
pre-history to contemporary art. 

Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Restricted Resource
Indexes architecture and related fields, from pre-history to contemporary practice, in over 2,500 international journals.  Architecture of North & South America, Europe, Asia, & Australia. Allows searching by type of drawing (plans, sections) & image type (interior photograph).
 
Dates of Coverage:  1930s to date (with a handful of titles indexed back to the 19thc.0

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 680 .E495 2004 vols. 1-3
OBIS record
Covers people, places and architecture terms:
o  Individual architects, firms, critics and architectural historians
o   Cities, countries, and regions as well as specific buildings and sites
o   Buildings types, materials, stylistic and theoretical terms, movements

Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of The World
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 208.E53 1997 vols.1-3
o  Worldwide survey of vernacular architecture
o   Covers vernacular, indigenous, tribal, folk, peasant, & traditional architecture
o   Line drawings, photographs & some architectural plans 

Grove Art Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; Excellent bibliographies; Covers art broadly defined (traditional & new media, decorative arts, performance, dance, ritual, jewelry, etc.) worldwide from pre-history to the present.


note: Part of Oxford Art Online, a suite of four art encyclopedias
Visual Dictionary of Architecture
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 31 .C44 1995 Resource contains images
OBIS record
65 basic concepts (such as brick, church, history, joinery, moisture control, membrane, window, etc.) with detailed illustrations 

Images

Architecture in Detail Series
Print Location: search OBIS for the title "architecture in detail (london, england)"

Elements of Style: an encyclopedia of domestic architectural detail
Print Location: Art Ref. NA 2850 .E44 2012
OBIS record
o   Interior architectural details, from 1485 to the present 
o   Arranged by period ("Tudor and Jacobean", "Beyond Modern", etc.)

note: Prev. eds in Art stacks: NA 2850.E44 1996 & NA 2850.E44 1991
Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century: Plans, Sections, and Elevations
Print Location: Art NA 2705 .W44 2004 (Book & CD-ROM)
OBIS record

Book Search
Search OBIS
OBIS: Useful subject headings
Search your architect or building as a keyword,
    keyword: frank gehry
    keyword: skidmore owings and merrill
To narrow results:
    Limit to Location = Art Library
    Limit to Language = English 
For drawings, photos and images of architecture:
    keyword:  designs and plans and [your building]
    keyword:  pictorial works and [your building]
For drawings, photos and images of works by architects, use the same keywords and the architect's name:
    keyword:  designs and plans and [your architect]
    keyword:  pictorial works and [your architect]

Hand-selected websites
We have identified many rich, informative architecture websites and bookmarked them on the Art Library's Delicious page
Back to TOP