Best Journal Article Database
Inspec, 1969-present
Comprehensive coverage of the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.  The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn.  The library is investigating alternative modes of access.   
All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

Great Atlas of the Sky
Print Location: Sci Reference QB65 .B89 2009
OBIS record
note: Lies flat, on top of reference shelves.
Interactive Sky Chart Resource contains images
Simulate a naked-eye view of the sky from any location on Earth, at any time of day or night, and on any date from 1600 to 2400.
note: requires free registration and Java
Observer's Sky Atlas, 3rd ed. Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains 50 star charts covering the entire sky.
note: electronic book

Background & Context Sources

Cambridge Guide to the Solar System, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Sci Oversize QB501 .L24 2011
OBIS record
Great Atlas of the Stars
Print Location: Sci Atlas Cases QB65 .B87 2001
OBIS record
Charts and information about constellations.  
Solar System
Print Location: Sci Reference QB501 .S625 1998 vols. 1-3
OBIS record 

Chemical & Physical Properties Data

Allen's Astrophysical Quantities, 4th ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QB461 .A564 2000
OBIS record 
High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC)
Archive for NASA missions dealing with extremely energetic phenomena.
Infrared Processing and Analysis Center Resource contains images
Center for science, data, and operations expertise for long-wavelength astrophysics.


MAST
The Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes supports a variety of astronomical data archives, with a primary focus on scientifically related data sets in the optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared parts of the spectrum.
Messier Deep Space Objects Resource contains images
Information about Messier deep space objects, including images. Arranged by object type: nebulae, clusters, galaxies, etc.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED)
Positions, names and basic data for 168 million extragalactic objects.
NEODyS-2
Provides information and services for all Near Earth Asteroids.
Planetary Data System (PDS)
Archive and distributor for scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
SDSS SkyServer
Data from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS).


Continuing Education & Careers

GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.

PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Databases

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
arXiv.org
arXiv provides open access to e-prints in the areas of physics, astronomy, mathematics, computer science and more. 
Inspec, 1969-present Restricted Resource
Comprehensive coverage of the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.
 
The historical file of Inspec (1898-1968), previously accessible via an OhioLINK server, is now withdrawn.  The library is investigating alternative modes of access.  

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
A Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
Web of Knowledge Restricted Resource
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.  

Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950-  Citation Indexes: 1965-  BIOSIS: 1969- )

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy
Print Location: Sci Reference QB14 .D53 2001
OBIS record
StarBriefs
Print Location: Sci Reference QB14 .S74 2001
OBIS record
A dictionary of abbreviations, acronyms and symbols in astronomy, related space sciences and other related fields.

Directories

Astronomy Links
An organized list of links from the ASP.


StarGuides 2001
Print Location: Sci Reference QB1 .S775 2001
OBIS record
A world-wide directory of organizations in astronomy, related space sciences and other related fields. 

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed. 

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Cambridge Atlas of Astronomy, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QB65 .G6813 1994
OBIS record 
Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Print Location: Sci Reference QB14 .E54 2001 vols. 1-4
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Eric Weisstein's World of Science Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.

Images

SkyView: The Internet's Virtual Telescope Resource contains images
NASA's SkyView is a virtual observatory generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from radio to gamma-ray.

Journals

Astronomical Journal Some full text available
Publishes original research with an emphasis on scientific results derived from observations. 
Astrophysical Journal Some full text available
Devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in astronomy and astrophysics. 
Publications of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific Restricted Resource Some full text available
The technical journal of the ASP. Contains refereed research and instrumentation papers, invited reviews, and dissertation summaries.
Sky & Telescope Resource contains images Resource contains audio
A popular astronomy magazine from the Sky Publishing Corporation.
Sky & Telescope
Print Location: Sci Periodicals Some full text available

Organizations & Associations

Web Sites

HubbleSite Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Includes an image gallery, information about the Hubble Space Telescope and a collection of Hubble news releases and discoveries.
Research Help @ the Science Library
Alison Ricker aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian


Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online

Phone:  
440-775-5146  Office
440-775-8310  Circulation Desk

Astronomy News from PHYSorg.com

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Acknowledgments
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science.  Maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP