Best Journal Article Database
Web of Knowledge
BIOSIS, Science Citation Index and Medline can be searched simultaneously in Web of Knowledge, making this the most comprehensive index for primary, peer-reviewed journal literature in the life sciences.

All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

Animal Diversity Web Resource contains images Resource contains audio
The University of Michigan Museum of Zoology's online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification and conservation biology. 
Biodiversity Heritage Library Some full text available
Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries containing open access to biodiversity literature.  Search by scientific name, get direct links to the relevant pages of digitized books that describe the species.
Birds of North America Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Provides detailed scientific information for the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
Darwin Correspondence Project Some full text available
Read and search more than 7,000 of Charles Darwin's letters. 
Encyclopedia of Life Some full text available Resource contains images
 Free, global source for scientifically accurate information on living organisms, drawing on multiple sources for taxonomic and systematic data.
Great Lakes Information Network Some full text available
GLIN is a multimedia digital collection with information about the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence region of North America. 
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Birds, Fish, Insects, Invertebrates, Mammals and Reptiles; covers evolution, habitat, behavior, and range.
Kingdoms & Domains : an Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth
Print Location: Science Library QH83 .M36 2009
OBIS record
note: by Lynn Margulis and Michael J. Chapman
Mammal Species of the World Some full text available Resource contains images
Wilson and Reeder's Mammal Species of the World, hosted by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.  Provides complete taxonomic hierarchy for each species.
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk QH83.S89 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Tree of Life Resource contains images
A collaborative web project that provides information about biodiversity as well as the characteristics and evolutionary history of different groups of organisms. 
USGS Ecosystems Resource contains images
Environmental information about the U.S.
World Register of Marine Species (WoRMS)
Provides an authoritative and comprehensive list of names of marine organisms, including taxa.

Chemical & Physical Properties Data

BRENDA Resource contains images
The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System 
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
CRCnetBase; online version of the 2011-12 edition of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.  Includes structure and properties search.  Older print editions are in the science library. OBIS Catalog Record for the print version.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk QD65.H3 2010-2011
note: 91st ed.
Protein DataBank Some full text available Resource contains images
Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics (RCSB). Contains information about structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.

Continuing Education & Careers

GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
iBioSeminars Resource contains video
Free online biology lectures and seminars.
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.

PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Databases

AgEcon Some full text available
Research in agricultural and applied econonomics.
 
AgNIC : Agriculture Network Information Center Some full text available
AgNIC is a partnership of institutions and organizations and offers access to agricultural infomation and sources.
Agricola Restricted Resource
Provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. 

Dates of Coverage: 1970-

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Avibase - The World Bird Database
Includes distribution information, taxonomy, and maps.


BioMed Central Some full text available
BioMed Central publishes more than 240 peer-reviewed open access journals
BioOne Some full text available
Scholarly journals from scientific societies, publishers and libraries in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. 
BIOSIS Previews Restricted Resource
BIOSIS Previews (which includes Biological Abstracts) collects abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature.
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds Resource contains audio
Contains more than 30,000 digitized recordings of over 1000 species of animals from the Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics at The Ohio State University.

Ensembl Some full text available
Genome databases for vertebrates and other eukaryotic species. 
Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine Some full text available
A cross-database search engine from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). 
GenBank Some full text available
The NIH genetic sequence database. 
Index to American Botanical Literature
Includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995.
Invertebrates Collection Database Some full text available
The online database of The Field Museum's collection of mollusks.
note: Requires free registration
Jena Library of Biological Macromolecules Resource contains images
JenaLib provides information on three-dimensional biopolymer structures, with an emphasis on visualization and analysis. Includes a gallery of images. 
JSTOR Plant Science Some full text available Resource contains images
Search by scientific name. Browseable by geography, collection and resource type. Includes photographs and drawings.  Links to JSTOR and Biodiversity Heritage Library documents.
MEDLINE (PubMed version)
PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. 

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present

National Agricultural Library Digital Collections Some full text available
Includes historical publications, USDA research and more.
Plant Facts Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Includes agricultural extension fact sheets, research and teaching information, a database of plant images, and gardening videos.
PLANTS Database Resource contains images
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

PubMed Central Some full text available
Archive of open access biomedical and life sciences journals. 
Reproductive Physiology Animations Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A collection of learning modules on human reproduction from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA) Some full text available
SORA is an open access archive of electronic journals about birds.
Tropicos Some full text available Resource contains images
The Missouri Botanical Garden's database of plant information. Contains searchable records of over 1.2 million plant names, over 4 million specimens and over 50,000 plant images. 
Web of Knowledge Restricted Resource
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.  

Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950-  Citation Indexes: 1965-  BIOSIS: 1969- )

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Animal Behavior Desk Reference, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QL750.3 .B37 2001
OBIS record
A dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution.

Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms, 11th ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QH302.5 .H65 1995
OBIS record
Edited by Eleanor Lawrence. 

Oxford Reference Online: Biological Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes ten dictionaries, one encyclopedia, and two Oxford Companions in the areas of biology, biochemistry and molecular biology, ecology, psychology, zoology, etc.

Directories

Biology Browser
Produced by Thomson Reuters, the publisher of BIOSIS and Zoological Record. 
ExPASy
ExPASy is the SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal and includes access to databases and software tools.

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed. 

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Earth Some full text available Resource contains images
The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed, electronic encyclopedia about the Earth, its environments, and their interaction with society.
Encyclopedia of Human Biology, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QP11 .E53 1997 vols. 1-9
OBIS record 
Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems
Print Location: Sci Reference QP11 .M33 2010 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk QH506 .C74 1999 vols. 1-4
OBIS record 
Life on Earth: an Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution
Print Location: Sci Reference QH541.15.B56 L54 2002 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Merck Index : an Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals, 14th ed.
Print Location: Sci Ref Desk RS51 .M4 2006
OBIS record
Oxford Reference Online: Biological Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes ten dictionaries, one encyclopedia, and two Oxford Companions in the areas of biology, biochemistry and molecular biology, ecology, psychology, zoology, etc.

Handbooks & Guides

Council of Science Editors Citation Style Guide
Washington State University Libraries' CSE style guide.

Images

ARKive Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Digital library of films, photographs, and audio recordings of the world's species.
Dolphin Embryo Microscopic Slides Resource contains images
Dolphin Embryo Microscopic Slides are scanned images of histological sections. The collection consists of many sections per single embryo.

Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection Resource contains images
Includes more than 5,000 photos dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity on forest ecosystems. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.

Visible Human Project Resource contains images
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Journals

Biomedical Beat Some full text available
A monthly digest of research news from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences. 
National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) Publications Some full text available
The  National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) NMFS publications include Fishery Bulletin, Marine Fisheries Review, and the NOAA Professional Paper.
PLoS Biology Some full text available
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. 
PLoS Medicine Some full text available
A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. 

Organizations & Associations

ActionBioscience Some full text available Resource contains images
Provides access to peer reviewed articles in the areas of biodiversity, genomics, biotechnology, evolution, the environment, and science policy. 
Missouri Botanical Gardens Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes a list of botanical databases and additional plant science and conservation resources. 
Research Help @ the Science Library
Alison Ricker aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian


Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online

Phone:  
440-775-5146  Office
440-775-8310  Circulation Desk

Biology News Net

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Acknowledgments
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science.  Maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP