Encyclopedia of American Studies Online
Johns Hopkins University Press 2010
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Main Reference HF 5803 .A38 2003 (3 vols.)
Johns Hopkins University Press 2010
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Main Reference HF 5803 .A38 2003 (3 vols.)
1949 - 2007 available in JSTOR;
use search box at the top to search within the journal or browse each issue. PDFs of articles can be printed / downloaded
1996 - present available in OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC);
use search box at the top to search within the journal or browse. PDFs of articles can be printed / downloaded
use search box at the top to search within the journal or browse each issue. PDFs of articles can be printed / downloaded
1996 - present available in OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC);
use search box at the top to search within the journal or browse. PDFs of articles can be printed / downloaded
America: History and Life
Index to journal articles covering American history and culture topics
Academic Search Complete
Index to articles from a broad range of academic disciplines, as well as popular magazine and newspaper articles
Other databases of possible interest:
Black Studies Center
Chicano Database
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Gender Studies Database
LGBT Life
Index to journal articles covering American history and culture topics
Academic Search Complete
Index to articles from a broad range of academic disciplines, as well as popular magazine and newspaper articles
Other databases of possible interest:
Black Studies Center
Chicano Database
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Gender Studies Database
LGBT Life
Readers Guide Abstracts (1983-current) Readers Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Indexes to articles in popular magazines (does not include advertisements!)
Selected agazines for browsing in the stacks:
- Better Homes and Gardens (1926-1975)
- Good Housekeeping (1906-1976)
- Harper’s Bazaar (1867-1974)
- Ladies Home Journal (1889-1976)
- Life (1936-1972)
- Sports Illustrated (1954-current)
- Time (1923-current)
iPoll
Search public opinion polls back to 1935
Internet Archive (Archive.org)
Free access to digital collections including music, video, web sites, and millions of public-domain books. Home of the Wayback Machine, to see what the web looked like in the past
Ad*Access
Advertising Images 1911-1955
Search public opinion polls back to 1935
Internet Archive (Archive.org)
Free access to digital collections including music, video, web sites, and millions of public-domain books. Home of the Wayback Machine, to see what the web looked like in the past
Ad*Access
Advertising Images 1911-1955
American History in Video (Oberlin subscription resource)
Contains public service announcements, newsreels, documentaries, and archival footage documenting American history
Prelinger Archives
Contains 60,000 videos, primarily advertisements, public services, documentary and amateur footage
YouTube
Lots of great material. Use it, but hava a healthy skepticism about the origins and autheticity of videos
Living Room Candidate
Presidential campaign TV ads 1952-2012
Contains public service announcements, newsreels, documentaries, and archival footage documenting American history
Prelinger Archives
Contains 60,000 videos, primarily advertisements, public services, documentary and amateur footage
YouTube
Lots of great material. Use it, but hava a healthy skepticism about the origins and autheticity of videos
Living Room Candidate
Presidential campaign TV ads 1952-2012
- Stop by the Research Desk in Mudd
- Email: reference@oberlin.edu
- Call: (440) 775-5031
- IM: chat box on library homepage
- Text: (440) 499-7898
- Schedule a Research Appointment (individuals or groups)
- Contact Jen Starkey at jstarkey@oberlin.edu