Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research on various CAS-related topics.
  1. Begin your search with a library catalog (OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  2. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  3. Finally, you may wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
Finding books and reference sources
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
WorldCat Restricted Resource
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover. 
Finding primary sources (including video)
Ad*Access (1911-1955)  
Advertising images from 1911-1955, which are arranged by theme: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

American History in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Contains public service announcements, newsreels, documentaries, and archival footage documenting American history..

Internet Archive

Free access to digital collections including music, video, web sites and millions of public-domain books. Home of the Wayback Machine, where you can see what the web looked like in the past.

iPoll (1935 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations.   Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -

Prelinger Archives
Contains 60,000 videos, primarily advertisements, public services, documentary and amateur footage.

YouTube
Lots of great material.  Use it, but have a healthy skepticism about the origins and autheticity of videos!
Finding secondary sources
NOTE: Some of these databases also include some primary source materials!

America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date



Bibliography of Native North Americans Restricted Resource
Index of books, essays, journal articles, and government documents from the U.S. and Canada, covering native North American history and culture.


Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes some full text.

LGBT Life Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.
Research help
Other resources
  • Keyword brainstorming excercise  -- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.
  • CRAAP test  -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online.
Back to TOP