LOOKING FOR REFWORKS HELP?
Access RefWorks from the library web page!

RefWorks help file
 (searchable!) -- This is also available within RefWorks, from the Help pulldown menu.

Fundamentals workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises that reinforce the topics covered in RefWorks Fundamentals video tutorial series (see below).
 
Advanced features workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises for features/functions not covered in the Fundamentals tutorial or workbook.  Features include:  Global Edit, Advanced Search/Saved Searches, Duplicate Checking, My List and more.

RefWorks Quick Start Guide -- Illustrates some of the basic features of RefWorks in a concise, printable handout.

RefWorks Fundamental video tutorials on Youtube -- Whether you are brand new to RefWorks are just need to brush up on the basics, these tutorials will help you learn some basic features to get started using RefWorks.
Finding primary sources including video
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
WorldCat Restricted Resource

LCSH subdivisions to look out for:

-- Anecdotes

-- Correspondence

-- Archival resources

-- Diaries

-- Autobiography

-- Interviews

-- Biography

-- History

-- Collective memory

-- Memory   

-- Memoirs

-- Personal narratives

-- Speeches

-- Sources
-- Case studies 
 

 













Summon
 -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover. 

Ad*Access (1911-1955) Restricted Resource  
Advertising images from 1911-1955, which are arranged by theme: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

American History in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Contains public service announcements, newsreels, documentaries, and archival footage documenting American history..

Internet Archive

Free access to digital collections including music, video, web sites and millions of public-domain books. Home of the Wayback Machine, where you can see what the web looked like in the past.

Prelinger Archives
Contains 60,000 videos, primarily advertisements, public services, documentary and amateur footage.

YouTube
Lots of great material.  Use it, but have a healthy skepticism about the origins and autheticity of videos!

Finding secondary sources
NOTE: Some of these databases also include some primary source materials!

America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date



Chicano Database Restricted Resource
A comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American, Chicano and the broader Latino experience. It indexes all types of material. Dates of coverage: 1960 - 

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press which represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media.  Coverage starts around 1960.  

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted Resource
Provides worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Particularly good for cited reference searching.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Research help
Other resources
  • Keyword brainstorming excercise  -- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.
  • CRAAP test  -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online.
Back to TOP