Search strategy
This guide is a good starting place for most people doing research on various sexuality-related topics.  Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research.
  1. Begin your search with a library catalog (OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide Background and Context, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  2. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  3. Finally, you may wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
Finding books and reference sources
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
WorldCat Restricted Resource
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover. 
Good for all subjects / topics
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
 

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center ( EJC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the full text of more than 7,000 online research journals covering many subject areas. 

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search full-text articles in core scholarly journals throughout multiple fields.  It's an archive: most titles lack entries from the past 2-5 years.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I Restricted Resource  Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world.  Limited previews are available for some recent dissertations. Also consider PQDT Open --  full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 to date ) Restricted Resource
Provides abstracts and indexing of over 450 periodicals back to 1983. 

Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) Restricted Resource
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines. This resource offers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Particularly good for cited reference searching.
Art
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
ARTstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.

Art Full Text (1984 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Comm. / Mass Media
Ad*Access (1911-1955) Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images

Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. Also consider other digital collections at Duke, under “Advertising and Consumer Culture” or “Women’s History.”

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available -- Most comprehensive coverage for communications and mass media issues.

Includes thousands of images and documents relating to; Advertising & Consumer Culture; African American history; Art, Literature and Music; Documentary Photography; Transcultural Experience; Women’s history and more.

Research Help
  • Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
  • Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
  • Chat / IM with a librarian
  • Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
  • Sign up for a Research Appointment
  • Contact Eboni directly -- ejohnson@oberlin.edu or 440-775-5026
Film / TV
FIAF Databases Restricted Resource
Collection of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), including the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972 to date) and International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-2006), and Treasures from the Film Archives, information on more than 40,000 silent film holdings around the world.  

Film Literature Index Unrestricted Resource
References to popular and scholarly articles about film and television. Dates of Coverage: 1976-2001

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies
Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource --  Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes some full text.

LGBT Life Restricted Resource Some full text available -- The definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Includes LGBT-specific periodicals, books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource -- Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature. 
History
America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. 

Dates of Coverage:  1964 to date



American History in Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Digital streaming videos including documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos, with searchable video transcripts.
 
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to more than 3,100 academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available.
Other resources
Back to TOP