OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library
OhioLINK Library Catalog
Journal Finder
WorldCat
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover.
OhioLINK Library Catalog
Journal Finder
WorldCat
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover.
Special Collections and the College Archives share space in the Goodrich room, which is located on the 4th floor of Mudd.
Hours: 1:30-4:30pm M-F and by appointment
Rare, valuable published materials and objects of historic and artistic significance
Archives
Hours: 10am-noon, 1-4:30pm M-F
Unpublished materials and objects relating to the College and to some degree, the town
See the NEWS & NEWSPAPERS page for finding guides to major newspapers, links to news databases, and info on accessing Oberlin news sources.
Alternative Press Index
Provides international and interdisciplinary coverage of social change from theoretical and practical perspectives. Covers more than 300 radical or left-leaning journals, magazines, and newspapers.Dates of Coverage: 1991-
Ethnic NewsWatch
-- A full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press which represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media.
New York Times (1851-2009)
-- Provides the complete full text of the New York Times. It is possible to search for keywords and also browse images of the complete pages.
LexisNexis Academic
-- Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical and reference information most of which are available in full text. The service includes newspapers, magazines, wire services and legal sources.
Alternative Press Index
Provides international and interdisciplinary coverage of social change from theoretical and practical perspectives. Covers more than 300 radical or left-leaning journals, magazines, and newspapers.Dates of Coverage: 1991-
Ethnic NewsWatch
New York Times (1851-2009)
LexisNexis Academic
Communication & Mass Media Complete
-- Most comprehensive coverage for communications and mass media issues.
Film Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Dates of Coverage: 1976-2001
Film & Television Literature Index
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Film Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. Dates of Coverage: 1976-2001
Film & Television Literature Index
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Gender Studies Database
-- Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes some full text.
LGBT Life
-- The definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Includes LGBT-specific periodicals, books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.
Women's Studies International
-- Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature.
LGBT Life
Women's Studies International
SocINDEX
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.
Eboni Johnson
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Tel: (440) 775-5026
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment
Academic Search Complete
Covers scholarly journals and popular magazines on nearly every subject. Includes full text of many articles.
JSTOR
-- Full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the natural sciences. Current issues (usually the last 3-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
-- Contains more than 2 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. Use Interlibrary loan to request theses and dissertations!
Web of Knowledge
-- Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Particularly good for cited reference searching.
Covers scholarly journals and popular magazines on nearly every subject. Includes full text of many articles.
JSTOR
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I
Web of Knowledge
LGBTQ America Today : An Encyclopedia
Main Reference HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009 (3 vols)
The Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
Main Reference HQ76 .G724 2010 (3 vols)
Encyclopedia of American Studies (online)
Main Reference HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009 (3 vols)
The Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
Main Reference HQ76 .G724 2010 (3 vols)
Encyclopedia of American Studies (online)
WorldCat (under QUICK LINKS on the Library homepage)
You may already be familiar with using WORLDCAT to locate and borrow books and other items that Oberlin and OhioLINK don’t own. TIP! You can limit your search to archival materials, too!
Digital library/archive of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts that exist in digital form, including moving images, live music (concerts), audio/MP3s and texts.
An online listing of 5000+ websites that describe manuscript and archival materials in locations across the globe. Note: this database does not have a search feature!
- CRAAP test -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online
- keyword exercise.docx
-- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find