All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

Science Online (via Facts on File) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Indepth introductory articles in all scientific disciplines. Includes definitions, biographies, news articles, timelines, and experiments & activities.  Articles are selected from a diverse collection of Facts on File encyclopedias and other reference sources.

Blogs

Chemical blogspace
 A collection of data from hundreds of scientific chemistry blogs.

Chemical & Physical Properties Data

BRENDA Resource contains images
The Comprehensive Enzyme Information System.
Chemicool Some full text available Resource contains images
An interactive periodic table of elements. 
 
ChemSpider: the Free Chemical Database Some full text available Resource contains images
ChemSpider is a chemical structure database providing searchable access to structures, properties, and associated information. There is also a mobile version of ChemSpider and a free ChemSpider app available for iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
CRCnetBase; online version of the 2011-12 edition of the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.  Includes structure and properties search. 
eMolecules Some full text available
Search for chemical compounds by text, or by drawing the structure or substructure. 
Hazardous Substances Data Bank Some full text available
HSDB focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. Accessible via TOXNET.
Human Metabolome Database Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes a chemical drawing application for human metabolites. 
 
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology Some full text available
Contains data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Includes physical, thermodynamic, and mechanical properties.
Knovel Critical Tables Some full text available
Tables covering thermal, chemical, physical, and electrical properties data.
Mobile Reagents Resource contains images
Mobile app with searchable access to reagents for organic synthesis and screen compounds. Available for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad.
NIST Chemistry WebBook Some full text available
Includes thermochemical, physical, chemical and electrical data.
NIST Data Gateway Some full text available
Provides searchable access to National Institue of Standards and Technology scientific and technical data. 
NIST Fundamental Physical Constants Some full text available
From the Physical Measurement Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
NMR and Other Spectra - Guide to Online Sources
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Chemistry Library.
Organic Chemistry Portal Resource contains images
Chemicals, reactions, structure search, bibliographic abstracts, and links to related resources. 
Protein DataBank Some full text available Resource contains images
Information about structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
Sigma-Aldrich Chemical Catalog Resource contains images
Print copy available at Sci Ref Desk, not cataloged. 
Smithsonian Physical Tables Some full text available
9th Revised Edition
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS) Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.
Visual Elements Periodic Table Resource contains images
An interactive periodic table of elements from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Wired Chemist Some full text available
Data for general, inorganic, organic, and physical chemistry. Includes a section devoted to NMR spectral data.

Continuing Education & Careers

GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.
PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Databases

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Chemical Heritage Foundation Collections Database Some full text available Resource contains images
Art, artifacts, archives and photos relevant to the history of chemistry.
Derwent Innovations Index (via Web of Science) Restricted Resource
Access to cited and citing patents, cited articles, and full-text patent data sources. Sections include Chemical, Electrical and Electronic, and Engineering.
 
Envirofacts Some full text available
Search for environmental information by topic or location.
MEDLINE (PubMed version)
The most comprehensive journal article index for medicine and health. Search it plus dozens of specialized databases for genomics, proteins, neucleotides, etc., plus National Library of Medicine catalog.

Dates of Coverage: 1950-present
PubMed
MEDLINE (24 million citations in biomedical literature) plus 40+ specialized databases for biochemistry, proteins, genomics, neucleotides, the National Library of Medicine catalog, and more.
SciFinder Restricted Resource
Merges Chemical Abstracts, chemical compound data from CAS Registry, chemical reactions from CASReact, and Medline.  More information

Access requires individual registration, from oberlin.edu (on campus users only).  


Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medince, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching.

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
 

Dictionaries & Thesauri

IUPAC Gold Book Some full text available
A collection of terminology definitions from already published IUPAC recommendations.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Some full text available Resource contains images
Very brief definitions.  2nd edition, 2006.  Oxford University Press.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes all areas of chemistry and biochemistry.  
Oxford Reference: Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Dictionaries and Encylopedias on Science and Technology from Oxford University Press

Directories

ChemIndustry Resource contains images
Includes searchable chemical information and directories covering several industry fields and laboratory resources. Also includes a job finder, ChemJobs.
Chemistry Databases on the Web
An annotated list of chemical databases available on the web.
 
Links for Chemists
Chemistry section of the WWW Virtual Library 

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II: From Elements to Applications. Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes biological inorganic chemistry, solid state chemistry, materials chemistry, and nanoscience. Major reference work. 2nd ed.  Elsevier, 2013. 
Eric Weisstein's World of Science Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Contains encyclopedias in the areas of chemistry, physics, astronomy and science biography. Also includes Wolfram MathWorld.

Handbooks & Guides

ACS Style Guide
American Chemical Society guide for "effective communication of scientific information."
note: Online access for ACS journal subscribers only.
Chemical Information Sources from Indiana University Some full text available
CIS-IU is likely the most comprehensive and best organized guide in North America for academic research in chemistry.  
General Chemistry Online Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes a searchable database of common compounds, notes and guides for general chemistry, kits for building chemical formulas, articles and tutorials. 
SpectroscopyNOW Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
All areas of spectroscopy are covered, with recent news, articles and links to related sources.

Health & Safety Information

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
A federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Chemical Safety Bibliography
 Guide created by Univ of Chicago Library, Chemistry Subject Specialist.
Chemical Safety Data Sheets - ICSC
Mobile app that displays International Chemical Safety Cards (ICSC). Available for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad.
MSDS provider
Search, view, and print over 1 million current Safety Data Sheets.
note: Requires free registration with e-mail verification.
National Toxicology Program Some full text available
Aims to evaluate agents of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards Some full text available Resource contains audio
A source of general industrial hygiene information.
Where to Find Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
List of websites that provide MSDS, including websites that require a subscription, websites that require free registration, and websites with no restrictions.

Journals

ACS Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
American Chemical Society; current online subcriptions plus the archive of 1879-1995 ACS journals.  

C&EN Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Chemical & Engineering News. Full text is available to personal ACS members only; some news sections are available to all. 
note: Limited access for non-ACS members.
Chemical Science Resource contains images
A monthly journal that publishes significant new research findings.
Nature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed research articles of highest quality; scientific news, commentary, letters, reviews. Multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary scientific journal. Weekly. Current print issues in science library.
note: No access to pre-1987 articles online.  Print archive kept on campus.  See holdings in OBIS.
Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals Some full text available
RSC Journals includes Chem Comm, Dalton Transactions, and Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry.
Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Peer-reviewed research articles of highest quality; cutting edge research, scientific news, commentary, letters, reviews. Multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary scientific journal. Weekly. Current print issues in science library. Publisher: American Association for the Advancement of Science
note: JSTOR Archive: 1880 to five years before current year.  Full archive + current issues at sciencemag.org
Science
Print Location: Sci Periodicals
note: Current Issues
Scitation Some full text available
The American Institute of Physics Online Journals. Includes the Journal of Chemical Physics and the Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data.

Organizations & Associations

Software & Web Tools

Chemistry Add-in for Word
A free add-in for Microsoft Word that makes it easier to insert and modify chemical information. 
note: This resource is a downloadable software add-in.
ChemTube3D Some full text available Resource contains images
Contains interactive 3D animations of organic reactions, polymers, and solid state structures.
Find Journal Articles

SciFinder

The best source for chemical literature.
New users must Register (oberlin.edu only). More info.

 
Research Help @ the Science Library
Alison Ricker aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian


Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online

Phone:  
440-775-5146  Office
440-775-8310  Circulation Desk

Chemistry World

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Contact
This guide is maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP