Table of Contents
All Items by Source Type

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Ad*Access (1911-1955) Resource contains images
Print advertising images from U.S. and Canadian publications;  organized by product category: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

American Film Institute Catalog Restricted Resource
Comprehensive information about all films released between 1893 and 1974;  brief records for all films since 1975 with in-depth coverage of selected titles.  Search by title, cast, crew, character; subject; genre; release year and more. Most records include extensive plot summaries.

Dates of Coverage: 1893 to date
Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.

FIAF Databases Restricted Resource
Collection of databases from the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), including the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972 to date) and International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-2006), and Treasures from the Film Archives, information on more than 40,000 silent film holdings around the world.
 
Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Film Literature Index
References to popular and scholarly articles about film and television.

Dates of Coverage: 1976-2001

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.45 .C75 2001
OBIS record

Historical Dictionary of American Cinema
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.5.U6 B653 2011
OBIS record

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Print Location: Main Reference PN1997.8 .I58 2000
OBIS record

Encyclopedias

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Restricted Resource
A comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in literary and film studies. Includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Print Location: Main Reference PN81 .J554 2005
Movies in American History: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.5.U6 M685 2011
OBIS record

The Film Encyclopedia
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.45 .K34 2001
OBIS record

Handbooks & Guides

America's Film Legacy: The Authoritative Guide to the Landmark Movies in the National Film Registry
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.5.U6 E15 2010
OBIS record

Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Print Location: Main Reference Z5784.M9 E47 2006
OBIS record

International Film Guide
The International Film Guide offers an overview of trends and changes in global cinema across the last 12 months in one handy volume comprising over 400 pages. Championing filmmakers and their films, the guide also focuses on new voices and forms, often in difficult climates, from economic and cultural to political.
International Film Guide
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.3.I545
The American Film Institute Desk Reference
Print Location: Main Reference PN1994 .A599 2002
OBIS record

The Oxford Guide to Film Studies
Print Location: Main Reference PN1995 .O93 1998
OBIS record

The Oxford History of World Cinema
Print Location: Main Reference PN1993.5.A1 O96 1995
OBIS record

Organizations & Associations

American Film Institute
An independent non-profit organization devoted to preserving America's film heritage.   Known for their "top ten" and "best of" lists, e.g. top ten romantic comedies, 100 greatest movie quotations. 
British Film Institute
The British Film Institute (BFI) is a charitable organization established by Royal Charter to "encourage the development of the arts of film, television and the moving image throughout the United Kingdom, to promote their use as a record of contemporary life and manners, to promote education about film, television and the moving image generally, and their impact on society, to promote access to and appreciation of the widest possible range of British and world cinema and to establish, care for and develop collections reflecting the moving image history and heritage of the United Kingdom."

Motion Picture Association of America
The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc. (MPAA), together with the Motion Picture Association (MPA) and MPAA's other subsidiaries and affiliates, serves as the voice and advocate of the American motion picture, home video and television industries in the United States and around the world. MPAA's members are the six major U.S. motion picture studios: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures; Paramount Pictures Corporation; Sony Pictures Entertainment Inc.; Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation; Universal City Studios LLC; and Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

Web Sites

Academy Awards Database
Searchable database contains the official record of past Academy Award winners and nominees, including Scientific and Technical Award winners.

AllMovie
The AllMovie database is comprehensive, including basic product information, cast and production credits, plot synopsis, professional reviews, biographies, relational links, and more. Allows searching by genre (e.g. Comedy or Musical) and by mood (e.g. Thought Provoking or Futuristic).

Black Film Center and Archive
Established in 1981 as a repository of films and related materials by and about African Americans. Included are films which have substantial participation by African Americans as writers, actors, producers, directors, musicians, and consultants, as well as those which depict some aspect of black experience.
Film Festivals
Filmfestivals.com’s mission is to be the premiere online entertainment destination dedicated to showcasing film festivals around the world and fostering new film and filmmaking talent.
Filmsite
Filmsite.org is an award-winning website for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century. Detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference material are just some of the features available on the site. The site also contains film analysis, original content, information on the top films and most memorable movie scenes, "best of…" articles, and the most popular film quotes in all genres of film. Its many resources include a comprehensive overview of film history, a complete survey of the Academy Awards (Oscars), milestones and turning points in the industry, and background and descriptions for hundreds of classic Hollywood/American and other English-language movies from the last one hundred years.

Internet Movie Database
The Internet Movie Database (IMDb) is an online database of information related to movies, television shows, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media. It is one of the most popular online entertainment destinations, with over 100 million unique users each month and a solid and rapidly growing mobile presence.

Oberlin College Department of Cinema Studies
The official website of the Cinema Studies department of Oberlin College.
Area Film Venues
Cleveland Cinemas
Offers the best of independent cinema along with Hollywood fare at locations around the greater metropolitan area including the Apollo Theatre in Oberlin, and the Cedar Lee in Cleveland Heights

Cleveland International Film Festival
Created in 1977, the Cleveland International Film Festival is held each March. The eleven-day festival screens more than 200 new independent feature and short films from local filmmakers as well as those from throughout the United States and dozens of foreign countries. The festival is held at Tower City Cinemas in downtown Cleveland.

Cinematheque at the Cleveland Institute of Art
Founded in 1986, the alternative film theater shows art, independent, and foreign films as well as revived classics. Located within the Institute’s Gund Building at the corner of East Boulevard and Bellflower Road in University Circle.

Cleveland Museum of Art
With one of the oldest museum film programs, the CMA typically shows two films per week throughout the year.


Stocker Arts Center at Lorain County Community College
Home of the LCCC Film Series.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

New Books In Our Collection

Loading ...

Back to TOP