All Items by Source Type

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Année Philologique Restricted Resource
Indexes articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings covering all aspects of classical studies, including archaeology, art, history, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, and science. Historical coverage ranges from prehistory to the Middle Ages.
 
Dates of Coverage: 1924 to date
Projekt Dyabola Restricted Resource
Lists journal articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations about classical Greek, Roman, early Christian, and Byzantine art and archaeology. The most comprehensive source for material on art of the ancient Western world and its environs.
 
Greek and Latin Inscriptions Resource contains images
A collection of digitized paper impressions (or "squeezes") of Greek and Latin inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia; primary source material for studying the ancient and mediaeval world.
Patrologia Latina Restricted Resource Some full text available

The works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.  Covers most major and minor Latin authors; contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.


Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Restricted Resource
Contains all surviving ancient Greek texts from Homer (8th century BCE) through 600 CE, and a large number of texts from 600 to 1453. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Searchable tables of contents for nearly 200 classics, Near Eastern studies, and religion journals; check boxes allow simultaneous searching of selected older journals and essays in books.

Dates of coverage:  1992 to date (plus some pre-1992 journals)

Encyclopedias

Brill's New Pauly; Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Print Location: Main Ref. DE5 .N3513 2002 vols.1-10
OBIS record
Oxford Reference Online: Classics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
The Oxford Classical Dictionary
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Who's Who in the Classical World
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (English-Latin)
The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English)
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World

Primary Sources

Perseus Project Resource contains images
Includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.
OBIS record

Web Sites

Internet Classics Archive Some full text available
Searchable full text on the web for 400+ classical texts in English translations

Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call
440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN to find out about Oberlin's access or holdings:


Back to TOP