Best Journal Article Database
ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, index terms, reviews, and the full-text for ACM conference proceedings. ACM journals, magazines, and newsletters are also available at this site, as well as through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.
All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

AlanTuring.net
A collection of documents by Turing and other pioneers of computing. 
Artificial Intelligence: the basics
Print Location: Main Library Q335 .W365 2012
OBIS record
Semiology of Graphics: diagrams, networks, maps
Print Location: Main Library QA90 .B47513 2011
OBIS record
Turing Digital Archives
Contains many of Alan Turing's letters, talks, photographs, etc. as well as memoirs and obituaries written about him. 

Blogs

ReadWriteWeb
Popular technology blog about Internet industry news.

Continuing Education & Careers

Computer Science Online - Programs for Women Some full text availableopenURL
"There has never been a better time for women to enter computer science. This guide is the result of in-depth research and interviews with expert sources, to identify how women can make the most of this tremendous opportunity."
Dice
The leading career site for technology and engineering professionals. 
GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
Master's degree in computer science: Pros & Cons Some full text availableopenURL
From: Computer Science Online.  Degrees and Programs, both online and on campus.
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.

OdinJobs
IT job postings searchable by skill keyword and geographic location. 
PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.
w3schools.com
Tutorials and resources for teaching yourself web developement. 

Databases

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Association for Computing Machinery. Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.  Journals, books, trade magazines.

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
Compendex Restricted Resource
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Contains abstracts from journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports worldwide.

Dates of Coverage: 1884-present
 


Computers & Applied Sciences Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, including the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
E-print Network Some full text available
A full-text searchable database of electronic resources from the U.S. Dept. of Energy Office and Scientific and Technical Information.
Inspec Restricted Resource
The most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical literature in physics, astronomy, engineering, and computer science.

Dates of coverage:  1969 to present.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Subject coverage includes online information retrieval, information management and more.

Coverage database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Safari Books Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
E-books in computer science, information technology, business, and related fields. Includes many programming langauge manuals from O'Reilly, Pearson, and others.
TECH-Whitepapers
Search engine for technology whitepapers, technical research and case studies. 
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.  Includes cited reference searching.

Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
 

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
A dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions.
Oxford Reference Online: Science and Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Dictionaries and Encylopedias on Science and Technology from Oxford University Press
Webopedia
Free online dictionary of words, phrases and abbreviations related to computer and Internet technology. 

Directories

AIRG AI Webliography
Collection of online sources of information about artificial intelligence. 
DevCheatSheet.com
Directory of free cheat sheets and quick reference cards for developers, programmers, engineers and nerds.

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed.  2007 plus updates.

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Computer Science, 4th ed.
Print Location: Main Reference QA76.15 .E48 2000
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Computers and Computer History
Print Location: Main Reference QA76.15 .E53 2001 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of New Media: an essential reference to communication and technology
Print Location: Main Reference QA76.575 .E5368 2003
OBIS record 

Handbooks & Guides

C++ Primer Plus, 6th Ed., 2011 Restricted Resource Some full text available
 By Stephen Prata.
 Hosted on Safari Books Online, via OBIS.
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics
Print Location: Main Reference QA164 .H36 2000
OBIS record

Organizations & Associations

Software & Web Tools

Guide to LaTeX & Typesetting
Links to templates, guides, and software for using LaTeX to write scientific documents. Also includes links to other tools that typeset mathematical equations.
RefWorks
Bibliographic management software; an online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
note: Oberlin College affiliated users only.

Special Collections

cplusplus.com
Basic information, reference and articles about the C++ programming language.
Go Programming Language
An open source programming environment developed by Google.
Java Tutorials
Practical guides for programmers who want to use the Java programming language. 
OpenGL
Resources, documentation, and forums about the OpenGL programming language. 
Processing
An open source programming language and environment for creating images, animations and interactions. 
Python
Official website of the Python programming language 
SQLCourse.com
Online introductory SQL tutorial. 

Web Sites

Codango
Reviews and opinions about web development products, services and resources. 
Slashdot
Technology-related news, etc. 
Stack Exchange
Expert answers to your questions. Links to Stack Overflow
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
ACM TechNews

Loading ...

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Acknowledgments
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science and maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP