Biography
An Index-DIctionary of Chinese Artists and Collectors, Connoisseurs... . 
Art Library Reference, N 7348 .S48 1988
Use for biographical information on over 5,000 Chinese artists from the T'ang Dynasty to the mid-20th century, especially if you are not sure of their dynasty.  Can also be used to locate artists by their alternate / additional names. 

China Online Museum
100 Chinese painters from the 4th century to modern.
 
Modern Chinese Artists: A Biographical Dictionary Art Library Reference, N 7348 .S85 2006
1,380 artists both well-known in China and represented in museums, collections and auctions worldwide.  OBIS record
Background & context sources
Art and Architecture of China
Art Lib., N 7340 .S46 1992 c.1-2 
Do not confuse with the ebook Art and architecture of China: the history and culture of China (2006) by Sheila Hollihan-Elliot
Art in China
Art Lib., N7340 .C59 1997 c.1-2 
Concise history; timeline, bibliographic essay
OBIS record
Arts of China 
Art Lib., N7340 .S92 1999 c.1-5 
This is one of the standard introductory texts for the study of Chinese art. Organized by period from before the Shang dynasty, this fourth edition was revised and expanded to include updated archeological findings and information on twentieth century artists and works. Many useful maps and illustrations are provided throughout, in addition to a bibliography for further reading. 
OBIS record
Arts of China 900-1620
Art Lib., N7343 .W382 2000 c.1-2 
OBIS record
British Museum Book of Chinese Art
Art Lib., N7342.B75 1992 
Overview; Includes chronologies, list of sites, painters and glossaries
OBIS record
China, 5000 Years: Innovation and Transformation in the Arts
Art Lib. Oversize N7342 .C525 1998 
Exhibition catalog and website
OBIS record
Chinese Painting 
Art Lib., ND1043.C28 1985 c.1-4 
Survey of paintings and artists; Han dynasty (206 B.C.-221 A.D.) through Ching Dynasty (1644-1911)
OBIS record
Understanding Far Eastern Art: A Complete Guide to the Arts of China Japan and Korea: Ceramics, Sculpture, Painting, Prints, Lacquer, Textiles and Metalwork
Art Lib., N7337.H97 1987 
OBIS record
Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Ars Orientalis and Ars Islamica
Search the entire run of Ars Orientalis (volumes 1 to present,) and its predecessor Ars Islamica (volumes 1-16) for scholarly articles on all aspects of asian art.

Art Full Text (1984 to date)
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date.  For earlier dates search its companion database Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.  
 
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date)
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of  East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.  
 
JSTOR
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date
Library Catalogs
Search these catalogs for your topic. Then search for the titles you find in OBIS, OhioLINK, or request them via ILL (Interlibrary Loan).

Library Catalog, Ingalls Library, Cleveland Museum of Art
Large collection of books and journals for researching East Asian art and monuments. 
 
Library Catalog, The Freer Gallery of Art , Washington, D. C.
One of the finest Asian libraries in the United States. Catalog lists acquired after 1987 and about one third of the collection acquired before that day. (The Freer Library Catalog has been merged with the Smithsonian Libraries Catalogue.)
 
WorldCat, Dublin Ohio
Catalog of the books, journals, etc. held by almost every public, research and academic library in North America, as well as some European library.
Help!
  • Make a research appointment with the Art Librarian, Barb Prior.
  • Make a research appointment with the East Asian Studies Librarian, Runxiao Zhu (440-775-5116; runxiao.zhu@oberlin.edu)
  • Chat with an Oberlin College librarian
  • Review our Research Guides
  • Researching an object in the Allen Museum? See our AMAM research guide.
East Asian Collections in the United States

Art Institute of Chicago

Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
One of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art.

Cleveland Museum of Art
Honolulu Museum of Art
Los Angeles County Museum of Art

Minneapolis Institute of Art

Museum of Fine Arts Boston
Seattle Art Museum
Primary Sources
 Asia Art Archive: Collection Online
Asian Art Archive, Hong Kong
Growing digital archive of primary source material culled by individual practitioners and researchers in cities across Asia.  Selected items are available online.

China: Culture and Society (1750-1929) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Rare pamphlets, mostly in English, on a wide variety of topics including the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations, missionaries, philosophy, art and literature and more.  

The Chinese Theory of Art; Translations from the Masters of Chinese Art.
Art Library, 709.51 L63C; OBIS record
Translated writings by artists and art critics on problems, techniques, style, and taste.  
Contemporary Chinese art: primary documents.  Wu Hung (ed.)
Art Library, N 7345 .C666 2010 (2 copies); OBIS record
Anthology of key primary texts on Chinese art in the post-Mao era (1976-2006), translated into English.

Early Chinese Texts on Painting.
Art Library ND 1500 .E25 1985; OBIS record
Early texts from before the 14th c.arranged by topic.

Shansi: Oberlin and Asia
An online digital collection that documents the activity of Oberlinians in Asia from the 1880s to the 1950s. It contains materials from the Oberlin Shansi Memorial Association Records and personal paper collections, and it represents a small percentage of the total amount of materials in the College Archives that relate to the work of missionaries and Shansi Representatives in China and as well as other countries.

Newspapers
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of 12 English-language newspapers from China covering 1832-1953, and representing a wide range of regions and cities including Canton, Peking and Shanghai

Current Digest of the Chinese Press (2011 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available

Selections from Chinese newspapers translated into English; subject coverge includes Chinese politics and culture, international relations and security, and business and the economy.


World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
Fact checking: Dates, Names, Places
Union List of Artists' Names (ULAN)  - For alternate names and spellings
Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN) - For place names and their variants
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY - Includes images

Back to TOP