Find Data
These resources are helpful starting points for finding datasets:
Data.gov Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Includes data on climate, education, energy, health, science, and more.

ICPSR Unrestricted Resource

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of more than 500,000 data files in the social sciences.   Includes a bibliography of literature related to the data. 


Open Data Button: a browser-based app that helps researchers find, request, and share research data openly. Supported by SPARC

Re3data.org Unrestricted Resource
Registery of Research data Repositories.  "Over 1,000 listed research data repositories from all over the world making it the largest and most comprehensive online catalog of research data repositories on the web." Merged with databib.org

World Bank Open Data Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

More sources for statistics Oberlin College Library Reference Guide.
 
Create a Data Management Plan
Data Management Plan Templates  Columbia University Libraries Scholarly Communication Program, for all subject areas and funders that require a DMP

Data Management Plan Tool v.2 IEDA.  Written for the earth sciences, but applicable to any National Science Foundation funding entity.

DMPTool, California Digital Library  All subject areas.
Manage Data
Best practices for the entire data management cycle.  DataOne: Data Observation Network for Earth.

Data Management Plan Requirements - National Science Foundation Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL

Data Management & Curation, ICPSR: Tools and Services Unrestricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL

Describing Data (Metadata): a disciplinary approach Digital Curation Centre, Edinburgh

File Naming Conventions (FNC); in Data Management for Undergraduate Researchers guide, Purdue Univesity Libraries.

Open Science Framework.  Project management tool that supports the entire research life cycle: from planning to discovery. You can upload files, invite collaborators, edit common documents, and more.  Free.  Sponsor: Center for Open Science, Charlottesville, VA.  Try the Open Data Button app.

RefWorks Unrestricted Resource Keep track of all of your sources in one place, organized in appropriately-named folders that can be shared with collaborators.
Share Data
Domain-specific data repositories.  List compiled by Stanford University Library, organized by subject area.

Databrary
Video data library for developmental science; to promote sharing and reuse of video data.

Dryad Digital Repository (Datadryad.org)
A nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.

Mendeley Data.  Open-access research-data repository; free to users and free to submitters

Re3data.org  Browse respositories by Subject.

ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources Unrestricted Resource
A single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available, including information about the quality of open access resources. 

Public Data Commons Unrestricted Resource   Open Science Data Cloud.

Public access mandates for federally funded research: implementation plans.   Columbus University Scholarly Communication Program tracks the solutions proposed by federal agencies for providing public access to articles and digital data sets resulting from federally-funded research. 

Research funder open access requirements.  Summary provided by MIT Amherst Libraries.

 
Build Your Data Management Plan


DMPTool is updated whenever a funder releases a Data Management Plan requirement.
Data Management & Sharing Snafu
A data management horror story (YouTube) by Karen Hanson, Alisa Surkis and Karen Yacobucci.
Topics include storage, documentation, and file formats.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Research Help
Drop in at the Main Library Research Help Desk or
call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
or science.library@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Sign up for a Research Appointment

This guide is maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian
Back to TOP