Search EconLit
Search EconLit
Limit Your Results
Key Resources for Economics Research
EconLit Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive index of economic literature, including journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and books. Also includes full text for over 600 journals. Dates of coverage: 1886 - current

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Definitive reference source on all apects of economics, with articles contributed by economists from all over the world.

All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

Guide to Economic Indicators Restricted Resource Some full text available
Overview of key economic indicators, explanation of how they are compiled and what they mean for the US economy

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
IMF eLibrary Data Restricted Resource
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Uses can view and download predefined data reports or create custom reports of IMF data.
Business Source Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access to business journals, case studies, company profiles and market research reports, covering all aspects of business, management, finance, accounting, and economics.  Full text available for many titles.

Dates of coverage: 1886 --

EconLit Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive index of economic literature, including journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and books. Also includes full text for over 600 journals.

Dates of coverage: 1886 - current
NBER Working Papers (National Bureau of Economic Research) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers covering all areas of economic interest, including energy, environment, labor, health, education, and finance. The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization that publishes over 500 papers annually.

Dates of coverage: 1994 --
OECD iLibrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reports, datasets, journal articles, and statistics on international economics, policy, health and social issues published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Dates of Coverage: 1998 --

Encyclopedias

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Definitive reference source on all apects of economics, with articles contributed by economists from all over the world.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (2008 ed.) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Features articles on all aspects of the social sciences contributed by scholars from around the world.  

Government Information

Fed in Print Some full text available
Comprehensive index to working papers and reports of the US Federal Reserve, with links to full text on the web
FRASER - Federal Reserve Archive
An open archive of economic statistical publications and data with coverage beginning with late 19th century and up to current publications.

Statistics

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Government agency that collects and disseminates economic data and statistical tables, which can be accessed and downloaded from the website

FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
Download, graph and track economic time series data from multiple federal sources

ICPSR

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of more than 500,000 data files in the social sciences.   Includes a bibliography of literature related to the data. 


IMF eLibrary Data Restricted Resource
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Uses can view and download predefined data reports or create custom reports of IMF data.

Web Sites

RePEc Economics Papers Some full text available
Database of over a million economics articles, papers and books from around the workd that are freely available on the web. Site maintained by Örebro University in Sweden.

Research Help
Drop in at the Research Desk or call (440) 775-5031 during Reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at (440) 499-7TXT

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Current News
New York Times
1980 - current; LexisNexis

Wall Street Journal
1979 - current; Factiva
(in Factiva, click on "Source" and enter "Wall Street Journal" in the source box)

Washington Post
1977- current; LexisNexis

Financial Times (London)
1982 - current; LexisNexis

Back to TOP