All Items by Source Type

Almanacs & Yearbooks

21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook Restricted Resource
Thousand Oaks, CA : SAGE Publications, c2008

Biographical Sources

Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: from Confucius to Dewey
Print Location: Main Library LB17 .F56 2001

Data

Data.gov Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Includes data on climate, education, energy, health, science, and more.

Databases

Education Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available

Indexes articles from education journals and books. Topics include teaching methods, multicultural/ethnic education, alternative and comparative education, testing, policy issues, teacher evaluation, school administration, higher education, and more. Selective access to full-text articles from about 350 journals.

Dates of coverage:  1983 to date


Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes journal articles, books, and conference papers covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all areas including curriculum, administration, policy, funding, testing, and related social issues. Indexes over 1,500 journals, with full text for more than 750 journals.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The world's largest source of education information, with indexing and detailed descriptions of over 1.4 million journal articles, books, documents, research reports, surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, program overviews, conference papers, and other resource materials.  All areas of education research and practice are included. Many items include full text. Maintained by the U.S. Dept. of Education.

Dates of Coverage: 1966 to date
Kids Search (grades K-5) Restricted Resource
Kids Search (grades K-5) is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for students in grades K-5. Kids Search provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary. The interface facilitates searching by topic, enabling users to easily enter keywords, or select topics or subtopics to search. Users can filter results by source type (magazines, newspapers, biographies, pictures, etc.). Includes access to the Encylopedia of Animals.
MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students) Restricted Resource
MAS Ultra: School Edition (for high school students) provides full text from over 515 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 581 magazines. Full text is also available for many biographies and primary source documents, pamphlets, reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps & flags.
Middle Search Plus (for middle school students) Restricted Resource
Middle Search Plus (for middle school students) provides full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 170 magazines. Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritage? Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
Physical Education Index Restricted Resource
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, reports, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, books.

Dates of Coverage: 1970 to date
Primary Search (for elementary school students) Restricted Resource
Primary Search (for elementary school students) provides full text from 57 children's magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children's reading rooms. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of Animals and full text for over 100 pamphlets.
Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students) Restricted Resource
Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students) is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. Searchasaurus provides access to magazine articles, pictures, encyclopedias, and a dictionary through an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Lexile limiters allow searchers to specify the reading level of materials retrieved. Included is the Encyclopedia of Animals.
SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of Multicultural Education
Print Location: Main Library LC1099 .D53 1997
Historical Dictionary of American Education
Print Location: Main Reference LB15 .H57 1999

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Education
Print Location: Main Reference LB17. U54 2001 (3 vols.)
 
Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Main Reference LB15 .E47 2003 (8 vols.)


Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities
Print Location: Main Reference LC4704.5 .T86 2002
 
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education Restricted Resource
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999

Statistics

Condition of Education, The
Print Location: Main Reference L112.N377a
Digest of Education Statistics
Print Location: Main Reference L11.D48
 
ICPSR

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of more than 500,000 data files in the social sciences.   Includes a bibliography of literature related to the data. 


National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call
440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Back to TOP