Almanac of American Politics .jpg)
The nation’s most authoritative source of information about members of Congress and their districts, governors and the states.
Project Vote Smart - includes candidate profiles, issue positions, interest group ratings
Vote411 - voter information from the League of Women Voters
Pew Research Center Pubs on Politics and Elections
Nonpartisan think tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
The nation’s most authoritative source of information about members of Congress and their districts, governors and the states.
Project Vote Smart - includes candidate profiles, issue positions, interest group ratings
Vote411 - voter information from the League of Women Voters
Pew Research Center Pubs on Politics and Elections
Nonpartisan think tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
NationalJournal
Regarded as the most credible, objective, and authoritative voice in the Beltway.
Politico - Coverage of the 2012 Elections
RealClearPolitics
Non-partisan compilation of news and analysis.
Sabato's Crystal Ball
Analysis of presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections from the University of Virginia’s Center for Politics.
CQ Weekly
All things Congress.
Regarded as the most credible, objective, and authoritative voice in the Beltway.
Politico - Coverage of the 2012 Elections
RealClearPolitics
Non-partisan compilation of news and analysis.
Sabato's Crystal Ball
Analysis of presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections from the University of Virginia’s Center for Politics.
CQ Weekly
All things Congress.
Stateline: Daily News Service of the Pew Center on the States .jpg)
Political Blogs from all 50 States.jpg)
This Google doc links to state blogs identified by The Fix (Chris Cillizza of the Washington Post).
Factiva.jpg)
Follow these links to get to sources from any state:
Source > Select Source Category > My Source Lists > By Region > North America > United States
LexisNexis Academic.jpg)
Follow these links to get sources from any state:
Sources > Browse Sources > By News and Business Topics > Countries > United States
Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions.jpg)
Main Reference JK 2408.P623 vols. 1 - 2
Political Blogs from all 50 States
This Google doc links to state blogs identified by The Fix (Chris Cillizza of the Washington Post).
Factiva
Follow these links to get to sources from any state:
Source > Select Source Category > My Source Lists > By Region > North America > United States
LexisNexis Academic
Follow these links to get sources from any state:
Sources > Browse Sources > By News and Business Topics > Countries > United States
Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions
Main Reference JK 2408.P623 vols. 1 - 2
National Blog - Down the Middle:
At the Races (by Roll Call)
National Blogs on the Right
Campaign Spot (Jim Geraghty of The National Review)
American Spectator Blog
National Blogs on the Left
Maddow Blog (Steve Benen)
Wonkblog (Ezra Klein of the Washington Post)
At the Races (by Roll Call)
National Blogs on the Right
Campaign Spot (Jim Geraghty of The National Review)
American Spectator Blog
National Blogs on the Left
Maddow Blog (Steve Benen)
Wonkblog (Ezra Klein of the Washington Post)
Living Room Candidate
Museum of the Moving Image provides access to more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952.
Wesleyan Media Project Press Releases
The Wesleyan Media Project tracks and analyzes all broadcast advertisements aired by or on behalf of federal and state election candidates in every media market in the country.
Museum of the Moving Image provides access to more than 300 commercials from every presidential election since 1952.
Wesleyan Media Project Press Releases
The Wesleyan Media Project tracks and analyzes all broadcast advertisements aired by or on behalf of federal and state election candidates in every media market in the country.
Commission on Presidential Debates
The official sponsor of presidential debates since 1988.
American Presidency Project (UCSB)
Includes transcripts of debates between Republican candidates during the 2012 primary election.
What Body Language Says to Voters - from The New York Times
Debate Pivots: How Politicians Get Away with Dodging the Question from NPR
What to Watch for in the First Presidential Debate - by Brett O'Donnell in the Daily Beast
Debate Stakes: Empathy, Likability, and Winning Over Voters - from NationalJournal
The official sponsor of presidential debates since 1988.
American Presidency Project (UCSB)
Includes transcripts of debates between Republican candidates during the 2012 primary election.
What Body Language Says to Voters - from The New York Times
Debate Pivots: How Politicians Get Away with Dodging the Question from NPR
What to Watch for in the First Presidential Debate - by Brett O'Donnell in the Daily Beast
Debate Stakes: Empathy, Likability, and Winning Over Voters - from NationalJournal
Resources marked with
provide easy access to information on a state by state level.
Misreading the 2012 Election - by Andrew Kohut of Pew Research
21 Reasons for Obama's Victory and Romney's Defeat - RealClearPolitics
12 From '12: Some Takeaways From a Wild Election - Larry Sabato
The Next America Roundup: Postelection Opinions and Commentary - National Journal
21 Reasons for Obama's Victory and Romney's Defeat - RealClearPolitics
12 From '12: Some Takeaways From a Wild Election - Larry Sabato
The Next America Roundup: Postelection Opinions and Commentary - National Journal
Find the web site for the Secretary of State of the state you are researching - this office is usually responsible for handling elections.
BallotPedia.jpg)
BallotPedia
A free, collaborative, online encyclopedia about state politics, including elections, congress, state executive officials, state legislatures, recall elections, ballot measures (including ballot measure law, school bond and tax elections and local ballot measures).
Early and Absentee Voting by State (NPR) .jpg)
Everything You've Ever Wanted to Know About Voter ID Laws (ProPublica).jpg)
Voter ID Laws in all 50 States.jpg)
Early Voting Information Center (Reed College)
Find the web site for the Secretary of State of the state you are researching - this office is usually responsible for handling voter registration, coordinating boards of election, etc.
Everything You've Ever Wanted to Know About Voter ID Laws (ProPublica)
Voter ID Laws in all 50 States
Early Voting Information Center (Reed College)
Find the web site for the Secretary of State of the state you are researching - this office is usually responsible for handling voter registration, coordinating boards of election, etc.
FactCheck.org - Annenberg Public Policy Center
PolitiFact
includes 'editions' for battleground states and the Obameter
Washington Post Fact Checker
FlackCheck.org - Annenberg Public Policy Center
Uses parody and humor to debunk false political advertising, poke fun at extreme language, and hold the media accountable for their reporting on political campaigns.
PolitiFact
includes 'editions' for battleground states and the Obameter
Washington Post Fact Checker
FlackCheck.org - Annenberg Public Policy Center
Uses parody and humor to debunk false political advertising, poke fun at extreme language, and hold the media accountable for their reporting on political campaigns.
Battlegrounds 2012 (National Journal)
FiveThirtyEight - Nate Silver's Political Calculus at the NYT
Swing State Tracker (NYT)
FiveThirtyEight - Nate Silver's Political Calculus at the NYT
Swing State Tracker (NYT)
Campaign Finance 2012: The Rules post Citizens United (NPR)
PAC Track (ProPublica)
OpenSecrets.org - Center for Responsive Politics
Premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
Influence Explorer (Sunlight Foundation)
Provides an overview of campaign finance, lobbying, earmark, contractor misconduct, and federal spending.
PAC Track (ProPublica)
OpenSecrets.org - Center for Responsive Politics
Premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.
Influence Explorer (Sunlight Foundation)
Provides an overview of campaign finance, lobbying, earmark, contractor misconduct, and federal spending.
Daily Presidential Tracking Poll - by Rasmussen Reports
Gallup on the Presidency
iPoll
A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations. Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -
Pollster (Huffington Post)
Quinnipiac University Polling Institute
Data Directory (Washington Post)
Gallup on the Presidency
iPoll
A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations. Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -
Pollster (Huffington Post)
Quinnipiac University Polling Institute
Data Directory (Washington Post)
Election Statistics [PDFs] - compiled by the Clerk of the House of Representatives .jpg)
Offical vote counts from all federal elections since 1920
Presidential Elections Data (American Presidency Project).jpg)
Vital Statistics on the Presidency
Print Location: Main Ref JK518.R34 2009
Presidential Elections, 1789-2008
Print Location: Main Ref JK524.D47 2010
Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004
Print Location: Main Ref G1201.F9 H5 2006
Offical vote counts from all federal elections since 1920
Presidential Elections Data (American Presidency Project)
Vital Statistics on the Presidency
Print Location: Main Ref JK518.R34 2009
Presidential Elections, 1789-2008
Print Location: Main Ref JK524.D47 2010
Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004
Print Location: Main Ref G1201.F9 H5 2006
PollTracker
Politifact
NYT Election 2012
Politifact
NYT Election 2012