National Journal
National Journal is regarded as the most credible, authoritative and objective voice inside the Beltway.
Political News & Analysis
Politico
Political news organization with multiple media outlets.

RealClearPolitics
Aggregates political news and analysis from around the country.

Sabato's Crystal Ball
Analysis of presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections from the University of Virginia’s Center for Politics.

CQ Weekly
Congressional Quarterly covers all aspects of politics on the Hill.

Political News via ProQuest Congressional
includes the Washington Post, Roll Call, and social media accounts of members of congress

FiveThirtyEight - Politics
Statistical analysis by Nate Silver

Cook Political Report (OC does not subscribe - some content not free)

Rothenberg Political Report (OC does not subscribe - some content not free)
Fact Checking
FactCheck.org - Annenberg Public Policy Center

FlackCheck.org - Annenberg Public Policy Center
Designed to help viewers recognize flaws in arguments in general and political ads in particular. Video resources point out deception and incivility in political rhetoric.

PolitiFact
includes the Truth-o-Meter

Washington Post Fact Checker
 
Campaign Ads
Poltical TV Ad Archive - by the Internet Archive
  • Search or browse by candidate, ad sponsor, or ad sponsor type

Wesleyan Media Project:  Political Advertising Analysis

To see ads:
  • Check the candidate's web site
  • Search YouTube for the name of the candidate
  • Follow the candidate on FaceBook and/or Twitter
Money - Campaign Finance, PACs, etc.
OpenSecrets.org - Center for Responsive Politics
Premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy.

Follow the Money - National Institute on Money in State Politics
Free, nonpartisan archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states.  Additional resources

Influence Explorer (Sunlight Foundation)
Provides an overview of campaign finance, lobbying, earmark, contractor misconduct, and federal spending. 
Past Elections Guides
2012 and 2014
Voter Information
What you need to know about how, when and where to register and more!
Forecasting
Swing the Election - interactive site lets you see how shifts in party preference and turnout by different demographic groups would affect the 2016 presidential election

270 Project - a interactive tool allows you to adjust voter turnout and margin of victory for five demographic groups — white women, white men, African-Americans, Latinos and others (Asian, Native American, mixed race) — to see what it would take for Trump or Clinton to win.

270 to Win - includes an interactive map of showing electoral votes

FrontloadingHQ
  • includes calendar of primaries and caucuses
  • explains delegate selection and allocation rules
     
Republican Delegate Calcluator - The Upshot (NY Times)
New York Times Access
For reading at nytimes.com
The College has a campus license for the New York Times
Sign up for your personal account at nytimes.com/grouppass  and register with your oberlin.edu email address.  

For tracking links and citations from the NYT:
Search the NYT via LexisNexis Academic and export articles to RefWorks.
Wall Street Journal Access
Oberlin does not have access to content at wsj.com.

To access Wall Street Journal articles search Factiva.*

* Only 3 Oberlin researchers can use Factiva at the same time.  If you get turned away, or asked for a password, try again later.

Factiva Search Help pdf
Election Information
Voter Registration
Voter Registration Statistics from the States
In many states the Secretary of State has overall reponsibility for elections but registration is typically handled at the county level by the board of elections.

If you've looked at the web sites for these offices in your state, try a google search like this:  number of registered voters by congressional district [state]
Members of Congress & Candidates
Almanac of American Politics
The nation’s most authoritative source of information about members of Congress and their districts,  governors and the states.

Project Vote Smart - includes candidate profiles, issue positions, interest group ratings
Election Statistics
DecisionDeskHQ - visual representation of vote totals

Election Statistics [PDFs] - compiled by the Clerk of the House of Representatives
Offical vote counts from all federal elections since 1920

Presidential Elections Data (American Presidency Project)

Vital Statistics on the Presidency

Print Location: Main Ref JK518.R34 2009

Presidential Elections, 1789-2008
Print Location: Main Ref JK524.D47 2010

Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections, 1788-2004
Print Location:  Main Ref G1201.F9 H5 2006
Polling Data/Public Opinion
Washington Post Polling coverage

Quinnipiac University Polling Institute

Pollster  (Huffington Post)

Pew Research Center on Elections and Campaigns
Nonpartisan think tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

iPoll Search (1935 to date)
Comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations.   Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -
Back to TOP