All Items by Source Type

Biographical Sources

American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
Print Location: Main Reference PS129 .A55
OBIS record

British Writers
Print Location: Main Reference PR85.B688
OBIS record

Databases

American & English Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
American & English Literature contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: 20th Century African American Poetry Collection; 20th Century American Poetry Collection; 20th Century English Poetry Collection; African American Poetry 1700-1900 Collection; American Poetry 1600-1900 Collection; Bible in English; Bibliography of American Literature; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; Eighteenth-Century Fiction 1700-1800; English Poetry 600-1900 Collection; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Drama 13-19th Centuries; W.B. Yeats Collections.
English Short Title Catalogue
English Short Title Catalogue is drawn from the extensive collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries, the English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published mainly in the British Isles and North America between 1473 and 1800. Items listed are mainly, but not exclusively, in English.

Dates of Coverage: 1473-1800

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  recent volumes (within 2 to 5 years) not available for many titles.

Literary Index Restricted Resource
Literary Index provides quick and easy access to 130 literature products from Gale Group and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. These products contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Literary Reference Center Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Information on thousands of authors and works, including: plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies, interviews and images; and book reviews.

 


Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature. 

LitFinder Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches and plays. Includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.


MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages.
Dates of Coverage: 1926-

Naxos Spoken Word Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Contains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children’s Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare’s Plays. New titles are added every month.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database provides access to articles, books, news reports, obituaries, motion picture reviews and other material about science fiction and fantasy. Some coverage of horror, gothic and utopian literature is included. Fiction, such as novels or short stories, is not indexed here. Book reviews are not indexed.

Dates of Coverage: 1878-

Women Writers Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Brown University Women Writers Project. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Restricted Resource
World Shakespeare Bibliography is a comprehensive record of scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and early modern England. The database is international in scope, representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe, and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia, listing items in more than 120 languages. It provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, films, audio recordings, and electronic media.

Dates of Coverage: 1960 -

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of American Regional English
Print Location: Main Reference PE2843 .D52 1985
OBIS record

Green's Dictionary of Slang
Print Location: Main Reference PE3721 .G677 2010
OBIS record

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource
Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).


Oxford English Dictionary
Print Location: Main Reference PE1625.O87 1989

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Print Location: Main Reference PN771 .E5 1999
OBIS record

Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
Print Location: Main Reference PN471 .F43 2005
OBIS record

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Restricted Resource
A comprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in literary and film studies. Includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Print Location: Main Reference PN81 .J554 2005
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day; covers poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.


Also available in print:

Main Ref PS 21 .E537 2004 vols. 1 -4


The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry In Anthologies
Print Location: Main Reference PN1022 .H39 2002
OBIS record

The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Print Location: Main Reference PN1021.P75 1993
OBIS record

Primary Sources

19th Century British Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
National and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.

Dates of Coverage: 1800s


African American Newspapers (1827-1998) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience.
 
Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998

 
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) Restricted Resource Some full text available
More than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

American Verse Project
The American Verse Project is a collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive source for primary documents of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries, the definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, contains primary source matierial of all types documenting American  history from 1801-1819.
Early English Books Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Early English Books Online includes the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare; this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement.

Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700

Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership Restricted Resource Some full text available
Allows searching of the full texts of the works.

note: This interface allows full text searching.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on the English Short Title Catalogue, and includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)

Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800

Wright American Fiction Some full text available
The Wright American Fiction online collection attempts to include every novel published in the United States from 1851 to 1875. It includes works by well known writers such as Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Herman Melville, and Harriet Beecher Stowe, along with a great many forgotten authors, whose works may have been very popular in their own time.

Web Sites

Bartleby.com: Great Books Online Some full text available
An Internet publisher including the full text of works by Dickinson, Keats, Shelley, Whitman, and others.
LibriVox Resource contains audio
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain and release the audio files back onto the net. Their goal is to make all public domain books available as free audio books.
Oberlin College Department of English
The official website of the English department of Oberlin College.

Project Gutenberg Some full text available
Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that an be used on almost any computer. Project Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free ebooks.
Victorian Women Writers Project Some full text available
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

New Books on Literature

Loading ...

New York Times Literature News

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Acknowledgments
This guide created by Maryann Penzvalto, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science.
Back to TOP