OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library
OhioLINK Library Catalog
WorldCat
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover.
OhioLINK Library Catalog
WorldCat
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender, as well as in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more.
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,300 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America, 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography.
Black Studies Center is international in scope and multidisciplinary, spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of vital importance to the Black Studies discipline. Also includes the full text backfile (1935 to 1975) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender, as well as in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more.
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,300 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America, 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography.
ARTstor
ARTstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.
Art Full Text (1984 - current)
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
ARTstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.
Art Full Text (1984 - current)
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Dates of Coverage: 1964-
American History in Video
Includes documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos.
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.Dates of Coverage: 1964-
American History in Video
Includes documentaries, newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs videos.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Literature Resource Center
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.
Humanities International Complete
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Literature Resource Center
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.
Humanities International Complete
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
Oxford Music Online
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
Contains Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Thousands of streaming titles from the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Search by album or song title, featured artist(s), or catalog number. Includes album covers and liner notes.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
International Index to the Performing Arts
International Index to the Performing Arts draws its content from more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Dates of Coverage: 1864-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance provides full text of journal articles on all aspects of theater and performance, plus indexing for books, book articles and dissertation abstracts. IBTD with Full Text is a multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool for theater students, educators and professionals. IBTD was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research and continued by the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College.
International Index to the Performing Arts
International Index to the Performing Arts draws its content from more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Dates of Coverage: 1864-
Eboni Johnson
Reference and Instruction Librarian
Tel: (440) 775-5026
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
Chat / IM with a librarian
Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
Sign up for a Research Appointment
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.Dates of Coverage: 1959-
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states — including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
Ethnic NewsWatch includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The complete Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.Dates of Coverage: 1959-
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states — including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
Oxford English Dictionary Main Reference PE1625.O87 1989
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium - a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Reference
More than 100 dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences from Oxford University Press (does not include the OED).
Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 100 dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences from a variety of publishers.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium - a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Reference
More than 100 dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences from Oxford University Press (does not include the OED).
Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 100 dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences from a variety of publishers.
American Decades
Main Reference E169.12 .A419 1994 (11 volumes)
American Eras
Main Reference E169.1 .A471979 1997 (8 volumes)
Juba to jive : the dictionary of African-American slang
Main Reference PE3727.N4M34 1994
Green's Dictionary of Slang
Main Reference PE3721 .G677 2010
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
Main Reference E169.1 .G7553 2009 (4 volumes)
The Twenties in America
Main Reference E784 .T84 2012 (3 volumes)
The Thirties in America
Main Reference E169.1 .T475 2011 (3 volumes)
The Forties in America
Main Reference E169.12 .F676 2011 (3 volumes)
The Fifties in America
Main Reference E169.12 .F498 2005 (3 volumes)
The Sixties in America
Main Reference E841 .S55 1999 (3 volumes)
The Seventies in America
Main Reference E169.12 .S447 2006 (3 volumes)
The Eighties in America
Main Reference E876 .E347 2008 (3 volumes)
The Nineties in America
Main Reference E839 .N56 2009 (3 volumes)
Black talk : words and phrases from the hood to the amen corner
Main Reserve PE3102.N4 S65 2000
Green's Dictonary of Slang
Main Reference PE3721 .G677 2010 (3 volumes)
The Oxford companion to African American literature
Main Reference PS153.N5 O96 1997
Main Reference E169.12 .A419 1994 (11 volumes)
American Eras
Main Reference E169.1 .A471979 1997 (8 volumes)
Juba to jive : the dictionary of African-American slang
Main Reference PE3727.N4M34 1994
Green's Dictionary of Slang
Main Reference PE3721 .G677 2010
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
Main Reference E169.1 .G7553 2009 (4 volumes)
The Twenties in America
Main Reference E784 .T84 2012 (3 volumes)
The Thirties in America
Main Reference E169.1 .T475 2011 (3 volumes)
The Forties in America
Main Reference E169.12 .F676 2011 (3 volumes)
The Fifties in America
Main Reference E169.12 .F498 2005 (3 volumes)
The Sixties in America
Main Reference E841 .S55 1999 (3 volumes)
The Seventies in America
Main Reference E169.12 .S447 2006 (3 volumes)
The Eighties in America
Main Reference E876 .E347 2008 (3 volumes)
The Nineties in America
Main Reference E839 .N56 2009 (3 volumes)
Black talk : words and phrases from the hood to the amen corner
Main Reserve PE3102.N4 S65 2000
Green's Dictonary of Slang
Main Reference PE3721 .G677 2010 (3 volumes)
The Oxford companion to African American literature
Main Reference PS153.N5 O96 1997