LOOKING FOR REFWORKS HELP?
RefWorks help file (searchable!) -- This is also available within RefWorks, from the Help pulldown menu.

Fundamentals workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises that reinforce the topics covered in RefWorks Fundamentals video tutorial series (see below).
 
Advanced features workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises for features/functions not covered in the Fundamentals tutorial or workbook.  Features include:  Global Edit, Advanced Search/Saved Searches, Duplicate Checking, My List and more.

RefWorks Quick Start Guide -- Illustrates some of the basic features of RefWorks in a concise, printable handout.

RefWorks Fundamental video tutorials on Youtube -- Whether you are new to RefWorks are just need to brush up on the basics, these tutorials will help you learn some basic features to get started using RefWorks.
Finding books and reference sources
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
WorldCat Restricted Resource
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover. 
Finding secondary sources
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.


Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  recent volumes (within 2 to 5 years) not available for many titles.

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature. 


MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages.
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world.  Previews and fulltext available for some titles.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Particularly good for cited reference searching!

Research Help
  • Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during reference hours
  • Email us at reference@oberlin.edu
  • Chat / IM with a librarian
  • Text us at 440-499-7898 (7TXT)
  • Sign up for a Research Appointment
  • Contact Eboni directly -- ejohnson@oberlin.edu or 440-775-5026
Other resources
CRAAP test  -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online.

Keyword excercise
 -- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.

Characteristics of Journals and Magazines

Literature review introduction -- this page explains what it is/its purpose, strategies for approaching it, and questions to consider along the way.

Literature review worksheet -- a tool to help you examine each source that you are considering including in your literature review. Also gives you a chance to practice your critical evaluation skills by writing a brief appraisal of each source.
Back to TOP