OBIS, the library's online catalog.
Search tips: Keywords should be joined with AND when you want both terms, not searched as a phrase, e.g., chemistry and revolution.
Subject heading search may be more useful for this topic, e.g., Chemistry History
Useful strategy: find a good book through Keyword searching, and see what Subject Headings have been assigned to that book (scroll down in the OBIS catalog record) to find more books on that topic.
Search tips: Keywords should be joined with AND when you want both terms, not searched as a phrase, e.g., chemistry and revolution.
Subject heading search may be more useful for this topic, e.g., Chemistry History
Useful strategy: find a good book through Keyword searching, and see what Subject Headings have been assigned to that book (scroll down in the OBIS catalog record) to find more books on that topic.
Academic Search Complete
One of the EbscoHost databases, indexing articles published in all subject areas. Search this plus any number of other EbscoHost databases by clicking on Choose databases near the top of the search screen.
Find more specialized databases for specific subject areas in the list of all databases (you can access this from any library web page, from the Quick Links pull-down menu).
One of the EbscoHost databases, indexing articles published in all subject areas. Search this plus any number of other EbscoHost databases by clicking on Choose databases near the top of the search screen.
Find more specialized databases for specific subject areas in the list of all databases (you can access this from any library web page, from the Quick Links pull-down menu).
Summon, the default search box on the library's web site, is a "discovery layer" that searches the content of dozens of databases, including OBIS, simultaneously. Search results can easily number in the tens of thousands and much higher, since it searches millions of online articles and the full-text of electronic books.
Search term suggestions appear as you type in the search box, e.g.
chemistry revolution gives way to History of Chemistry as the first suggested search phrase.
Use the REFINE options in the left side bar of the search results screen to get more focused search results.
Check Availability link leads either directly to the online source for that item, or to a screen that shows options for accessing the item:


Search term suggestions appear as you type in the search box, e.g.
chemistry revolution gives way to History of Chemistry as the first suggested search phrase.
Use the REFINE options in the left side bar of the search results screen to get more focused search results.
Check Availability link leads either directly to the online source for that item, or to a screen that shows options for accessing the item:

Alison Ricker
aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian
.jpg)
Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online
Phone:
440-775-5146 Office
440-775-8310 Circulation Desk
Science Librarian
Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online
Phone:
440-775-5146 Office
440-775-8310 Circulation Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files