Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research in Education, History, and related topics.
  1. Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet docx to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.  
     
  2. Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  3. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  4. You may also wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
     
  5. Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet pdf to evaluate the sources you find!
Search (almost) everything
Book Search
Search OBIS
Finding articles
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Education Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.

Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. 

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles in nearly all areas of study.  Current issues (usually the last 3 - 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. 

SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Particularly good for cited reference searching.
Research help
Writing & citation help

CHICAGO CITATION GUIDES
MLA CITATION GUIDES
  • MLA handbook  8th ed. 
    Location: Main Reference            LB2369 .G53 2016 c.4
    (also Main Library, Art Reference, Con Reference, and Sci Ref Desk)
  • MLA Style – Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
    https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/747/01/
 
KEEPING TRACK OF YOUR SOURCES


ProQuest RefWorks is a citation management tool that helps researchers gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
  • Search - OBIS, OhioLink, PubMed & Scopus
  • Share - Folders via URL
  • Store - PDFs online and take notes
  • Read - Search your references fulltext and save searches
  • Write - Create a simple reference list and use Write-N-Cite to format paper in Microsoft Word
  • Check out our video tutorial!
Back to TOP