Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research disability in literature, and other literature topics.
  1. Begin your search with a library catalog (OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  2. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  3. Finally, you may wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
Core research tools
  • OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource represents the holdings of nearly 90 academic libraries around the state, plus some large public libraries.  You can borrow materials from other libraries through the OhioLINK catalog. Most items are delivered within 3 - 5 business days.
     
  • Summon is a library search engine that helps you discover a wide range of materials regardless of subject area or format.  It's a great starting pointn for many research projects.  Try it and see what you can find!
     
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) helps you get books and articles that aren't available at Oberlin.

Library of Congress Subject Heading possibilities
  • People with disabilities in literature (in art, in motion pictures, in mass media)
  • Abnormalities, Human (in art, in literature)
  • Disabilities
  • Disability studies
  • Sociology of disability
  • Autism in literature
  • Authors with disabilities -- Biography -- History
  • People with disabilities, Writings of, American -- History and criticism
  • People with disabilities, Writings of, English -- History and criticism
  • People with mental disabilities in literature (in motion pictures)
  • People with mental disabilities -- Fiction
  • People with mental disabilities -- Portraits
  • People with visual disabilities (fiction, poetry, portraits)
  • Mental illness in art (in literature, in motion pictures, in mass media, in music)
  • Mental illness -- Personal narratives (Drama, Fiction)
Databases for finding articles
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world. THE source for scholarship on literatures and languages.  

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance Restricted Resource Some full text available
The major index for international theatre literature published from 1982 to the present. Indexes internationally published books, articles, dissertations and conference papers significant for drama and theater research.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles in nearly all areas of study.  Current issues (usually the last 3 - 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. 

Literary Reference Center Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
A comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals.

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses on all subjects from around the world. Previews and full text available for some titles.

Research help
Other resources
Keyword excercise  -- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.

CRAAP test
  -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online.

Literature review worksheet -- a tool to help you examine each source that you are considering including in your annotated bibliography. Also gives you a chance to practice your critical evaluation skills by writing a brief appraisal of each source. 
RefWorks
Access RefWorks from the library web page!

RefWorks help file
 (searchable!) -- This is also available within RefWorks, from the Help pulldown menu.

Fundamentals workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises that reinforce the topics covered in RefWorks Fundamentals video tutorial series (see below).
 
Advanced features workbook -- A self-directed study guide with exercises for features/functions not covered in the Fundamentals tutorial or workbook.  Features include:  Global Edit, Advanced Search/Saved Searches, Duplicate Checking, My List and more.

RefWorks Quick Start Guide -- Illustrates some of the basic features of RefWorks in a concise, printable handout.

RefWorks Fundamental video tutorials on Youtube -- Whether you are brand new to RefWorks are just need to brush up on the basics, these tutorials will help you learn some basic features to get started using RefWorks.
Back to TOP