Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research on Pirates & Piracy:
  1. Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet docx to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.   
     
  2. Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  3. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  4. You may also wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
     
  5. Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet pdf to evaluate the sources you find!
Catalogs of books
OBIS -- materials held by Oberlin College Libraries

OhioLINK -- statewide catalog of about 90 academic libraries around Ohio; self-service borrowing; items generally arrive in 3-5 business days and circulate for 3 weeks with up to 6 renewals
Research tools to know
Summon: search almost* everything
 
Advanced Search

Journal Finder -- Search by journal title to access what Oberlin has available online and in print

ILLiad -- Interlibrary Loan service which allows you to borrow materials from other libraries
Ancient World and Classical sources
Perseus Digital Library -- online library of Greek and Roman classical texts, searchable English translations

Beazley Archive of Classical Art (Oxford) -- online, keyword searchable descriptions of classical art, architecture, and pottery
European / British Empire sources
Early English Books Online Restricted Resource Some full text available -- almost every book published in Britain 1475-1700

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available -- books published between 1700-1800, primarily British

European Views of the Americas (1493-1750) Restricted Resource -- works printed in Europe relating to the Americas

Nineteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images -- diverse collections covering the 19th century world

19th Century British Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available -- full text newspapers

Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2009) Restricted Resource Some full text available -- full text of the major London newspaper

Times of India (1838-2004) Restricted Resource Some full text available -- English language daily newspaper (Mumbai)

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913 -- searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court
Research help
Map and image sources
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection -- Scans of historical maps from the University of Texas at Austin map library

David Rumsey Map Collection Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images -- Online collection of searchable, scanned historical maps

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images -- High qualitiy digital scans of artwork and objects of material culture from across the globe, covering all time periods

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images -- Catalog of Art Museum Images Online -- images of works held by numerous art museums
Databases for finding journal articles
America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date
American sources
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available -- Searchable pages with scans of U.S. newspapers; includes most states

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) Restricted Resource Some full text available -- great collection of searchable page scans

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Early Encounters in North America Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images -- Letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, Latin America, Asia, and Africa.

Google Books -- books scanned by major research libraries.  Complete, full-text view available for public domain books

ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available  -- All documents of Congress, including: laws/legislation, hearings, reports, the Congressional record and committee documents. Also includes some executive branch documents

Maritime Search Engine -- National Maritime Digital Library

Mystic Seaport Library -- digital resources, including people (captains, crew, shipmasters, shipbuilders, artifacts, art, and photographs

New York Times (1851-2014) Restricted Resource Some full text available -- Complete scans of NYT; some images may be missing due to copyright

Nineteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images -- diverse collections covering the 19th century world

Piracy Trials (Library of Congress) -- searchable PDF scans of piracy trials, from holdings of the Library of Congress


Sabin Americana 1500-1926 Restricted Resource -- Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s.
Writing & citation help

KEEPING TRACK OF YOUR SOURCES


ProQuest RefWorks is a citation management tool that helps researchers gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
  • Search - OBIS, OhioLink, PubMed & Scopus
  • Share - Folders via URL
  • Store - PDFs online and take notes
  • Read - Search your references fulltext and save searches
  • Write - Create a simple reference list and use Write-N-Cite to format paper in Microsoft Word
  • Check out our video tutorial!
Back to TOP