Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research in Education, History, and related topics.
  1. Begin your search with a library catalog (OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  2. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  3. Finally, you may wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
Finding books and reference sources
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
WorldCat Restricted Resource
Summon -- searches across a wide range of library content, and not just books! It includes journal and newspaper articles, data, digital audio, video and images, and so much more. Try it and see what you can discover. 
Finding articles
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Education Full Text Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983.

Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. 

SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides users with a wealth of information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Particularly good for cited reference searching.
Research help
Other resources
CRAAP test  -- this rubric is good for helping you to evaluate the sources you find, both in print and online.

Keyword excercise
 -- use this worksheet to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.

Characteristics of Journals and Magazines

Literature review introduction -- this page explains what it is/its purpose, strategies for approaching it, and questions to consider along the way.

Literature review worksheet -- a tool to help you examine each source that you are considering including in your literature review. Also gives you a chance to practice your critical evaluation skills by writing a brief appraisal of each source.
Back to TOP