Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research in Germany / African Diaspora.
  1. Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet docx to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.  
     
  2. Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  3. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  4. You may also wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
     
  5. Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet pdf to evaluate the sources you find!
Book Search
Search OBIS
Summon: search almost everything
Finding articles
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text digital archive of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles in nearly all areas of study.  Current issues (usually the last 3 - 5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere. 
Research help
Dictionaries & thesauri
Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd edition

Oxford Dictionaries - includes access to bilingual dictioaries for Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish

Oxford Reference 
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

The American Heritage dictionary of the English language
Main Reference     PE1628 .A623 2011       LIBRARY USE ONLY

Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary
Main Reference     PE1628 .M36 2003 c.4     LIBRARY USE ONLY

Roget's thesaurus of English words and phrases
Main Reference     PE1591 .R7 2002       LIBRARY USE ONLY
 

 

Literature review help
Literature review introduction -- this page explains what it is, its purpose, strategies for approaching it, and questions to consider along the way.

Literature review worksheet -- a tool to help you examine each source that you are considering including in your literature review. Also gives you a chance to practice your critical evaluation skills by writing a brief appraisal of each source.
Writing & citation help

KEEPING TRACK OF YOUR SOURCES


ProQuest RefWorks is a citation management tool that helps researchers gather, manage, store and share information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies in a wide variety of styles.
  • Search - OBIS, OhioLink, PubMed & Scopus
  • Share - Folders via URL
  • Store - PDFs online and take notes
  • Read - Search your references fulltext and save searches
  • Write - Create a simple reference list and use Write-N-Cite to format paper in Microsoft Word
  • Check out our video tutorial!
Back to TOP