Resources for Studying African Literature
The sources on this guide are meant to provide background information and context for students of African literature - biographical information about authors and historical figures; criticism of works of literature; information on historical events;  insight into cultural practices, etc.
Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research in Africana Studies.
  1. Begin by using the keyword brainstorming worksheet docx to help you tweak your research question, identify keywords and related terms, and keep track of what you find.  
     
  2. Search in a library catalog (Summon, OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  3. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  4. You may also wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
     
  5. Finally, use the CRAAP test worksheet pdf to evaluate the sources you find!
About Authors & Literature
Literature Resource Center
Full-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature.

Black literature criticism : classic and emerging authors since 1950 (ebook)

Encyclopedia of African literature
Main Reference      PL8010 .E63 2003  

Postcolonial African Writers:  A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Main Reference      PL8010 .P585 1998

Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Literatures in English
Main Reference      PR9080.A52 E53 2005  vols. 1  - 3

Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
Main Reference      PN849.U43 E53 2001

Black literature criticism : excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years
Main Reference     PS153.N5 B556 1992 

**Titles in Main Reference are located on the main level of Mudd.**
About African Culture, History & Politics
New Encyclopedia of Africa (2008)
For information about key figures; cities and countries, with sections for geography and economy, society and cultures, history and politics; essays on colonial policies and practices, colonialism and imperialism; boundaries, and more

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life vols. 1 - 5 (2009)
Covers cultural groups around the world; organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more

Encyclopedia of Africa
Main Reference      DT3 .E53 2010  vol. 1 - 2
Also available as an ebook in OBIS

The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
Main Reference      DT14 .I74 2010  vols. 1 - 2
Also available as an ebook in OBIS

Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Main Reference      DT3 .P27 2001  vols. 1 - 3

**Titles in Main Reference are located on the main level of Mudd.**

 
Research help
Database for Finding Articles
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
For articles on specific works of literature, authors, genres, etc.

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
For all aspects of African and African American studies

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
For articles from history journals

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
For articles from political science journals

Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
For articles on gender issues

Education Research Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
For articles on education issues

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date
Writing & citation help

KEEPING TRACK OF YOUR SOURCES

RefME is a free mobile-friendly tool that creates citations, footnotes and bibliographies in many different citation styles across disciplines.

  • Search - Books, journals, videos, and more by title, author, ISBN, DOI, or URL
  • Share - Projects with other RefME users, and export projects to MS Word or other citation managers
  • Access - Bibliography across mobile devices, saved and synced in RefME platform
  • Store - Scan book/journal barcodes to create and store references using RefME App or WebClipper and add page #s, quotes, and notes
Back to TOP