Start Here!
The Oberlin Public Library has an excellent genealogy collection.  The Oberlin College Library can supplement that with its older historical and research materials, including newspapers, maps, directories, government publications and microforms, as well as with current publications (including some in electronic format).

This guide lists some Oberlin College Library materials that may be useful with your genealogy research.
Books (print and electronic)
American passenger arrival records : a guide to the records of immigrants arriving at American ports by sail and steam [OBIS record]
Main Reference     CS49.T46 1988

Dictionary of American family names [OBIS record]
Main Reference     CS2485 .D53 2003  (3 volume set)

County courthouse book [OBIS record]
Main Library     KF8700.A19B46 1990

Obituaries : A guide to sources [OBIS record]
Main Reference     Z5305.U5J37 1989  

State census records [OBIS record]

Main Reference     Z5313.U5 L37 1992

Family trees : a history of genealogy in America [OBIS record]
Main Library     CS9 .W45 2013  
Also available as an ebook


 
Directories
County Courthouse Book [OBIS record]
Main Library     KF8700.A19B46 1990  

State census records [OBIS record]
Main Reference     Z5313.U5 L37 1992  

 
Oberlin-specific sources
Alumni register : graduates and former students, teaching and administrative staff, 1833-1960 [OBIS record]
Main Library     LD4179.A16 c.2

General catalogue of Oberlin College, 1833 - 1908 [OBIS record]
Main Library     LD4165.51 c.3
 
Websites
Oberlin African-American Genealogy & History Group Unrestricted Resource
The Oberlin African-American Genealogy & History Group (OAAGHG) is dedicated to encouraging support for African-American genealogy and historical research. 

Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites on the Internet
A comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online.

National Archives -- Resources for genealogists
Use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry.
Maps
Map of Lorain Co., Ohio [OBIS record]
Main Spec Coll     912.771 L88.1857 c.2

Colton's township map of the state of Ohio [OBIS record]
Main Spec Coll     912.771 1851  
Research help
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Oberlin Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections and the College Archives share space in the Goodrich room, which is located on the 4th floor of Mudd. 
 
Hours:  1:30-4:30pm M-F and by appointment
Rare, valuable published materials and objects of historic and artistic significance. Includes the Anti-Slavery Collection
 

Archives
Hours:  10am-noon, 1-4:30pm M-F
Unpublished materials and objects relating to the College and to some degree, the town

 
News and newspapers
Databases
FamilySearch.org
FamilySearch maintains a collection of records, resources, and services designed to help people learn more about their family history.
Back to TOP