Best Journal Article Database
GeoRef Restricted Resource
GeoRef indexes geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of Coverage: 1785-present
All Items by Source Type

Atlases & Maps

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
Includes U.S. maps, international maps and historical maps.
US Topo Maps Resource contains images
Topographical maps from the U.S. Geological Survey.
USGS Maps, Imagery, and Publications Resource contains images
Includes access to the National Map

Continuing Education & Careers

GradSchools.com
Search for graduate programs by subject, program type, or location. Includes information about applying for graduate school and financial aid.
NSF-REU
Research opportunities for undergraduates in the sciences, funded by the National Science Foundation.

PhDs.org
Includes graduate school rankings and search. 
U.S. News Grad School Rankings
Search yearly graduate school rankings by discipline.

Databases

AAPG Datapages Archives Some full text available Resource contains images
Created and maintained by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG).  Includes AAPG Bulletin, the Journal of Sedimentary Petrology, plus content from 40 other titles and organizations. Access provided by alumnus Lawrence W. Funkhouser.
note: Subscribers & Oberlin users
Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Non-profit publisher of syntheses of the latest developments in 39 fields of science and social sciences. Excellent database of in-depth, secondary sources.
GeoRef Restricted Resource
GeoRef indexes geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

Dates of Coverage: 1785-present

GeoScienceWorld Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Search and access full-text of 40 peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
note: Subscribers & Oberlin users
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) Some full text available Resource contains images
Includes free downloadable data, interactive maps, reports and publications, and images.
National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) Some full text available
Operated by NOAA, NODC provides access to the world's most comprehensive sources of marine environment data and information.
USGS Publications Warehouse Some full text available Resource contains images
United States Geological Survey publications, including nearly all full-text of the numbered series (Circular, Fact Sheets, Professional Papers, Water-Supply Papers, etc.)

Web of Knowledge Restricted Resource
Many databases searched with one interface, including BIOSIS, Medline, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.  Also includes patents, Journal Citation Reports, conference proceedings, and BIOSIS Citation Index.  

Dates of coverage vary for each database (Medline: 1950-  Citation Indexes: 1965-  BIOSIS: 1969- )

Dictionaries & Thesauri

Glossary of Geology, 4th ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QE5 .B38 1997
OBIS record
Oxford Reference Online: Earth & Environmental Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes five dictionaries, two encyclopedias, and four Oxford Companions.

Directories

ipl2: Earth Sciences
Internet resources in the areas of geology, geophysics, meteorology, climatology, oceanography, and hydrology.
Martindale's Geoscience Center
Large, online directory of geoscience resources. 

Encyclopedias

Access Science Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 10th ed. 

OBIS record for print edition.  Sci Reference Q121 .M3 2007  vols.1-20
Encyclopedia of Earth Some full text available Resource contains images
The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed, electronic encyclopedia about the Earth, its environments, and their interaction with society.
Encyclopedia of Earth and Space Science
Print Location: Sci Reference QE5 .K845 2010 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Earth Science
Print Location: Sci Reference QE5 .K85 2005
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
Print Location: Sci Reference QE703 .E523 1999 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology, 3rd ed.
Print Location: Science Library Q123 .E497 2002 vols. 1-18
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Soil Science, 2nd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference S592 .E517 2006 vols. 1-2
OBIS record
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
Print Location: Sci Reference QE522 .E53 2000
OBIS record
Oxford Companion to the Earth Restricted Resource Some full text available
 
note: electronic book
Oxford Reference Online: Earth & Environmental Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes five dictionaries, two encyclopedias, and four Oxford Companions.

Handbooks & Guides

Exploring the Planets
From the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum, Exploring the Planets includes the history and achievements of planetry explorations.
Manual of Mineral Science, 22nd ed.
Print Location: Sci Reference QE372.2 .K54 2002
OBIS record
USGS Groundwater Information Some full text available
Timely information and studies about the groundwater resources of the United States. See also: Ground water atlas of the United States (in the print reference collection).

Images

Atlas of Igneous and Metamorphic Rocks, Minerals, & Textures Resource contains images
Introductory petrology in thin-section images.
Geology Digital Photographs Resource contains images
Geology Digital Photographs is a collection of photos depicting natural features and the human impact on environments around the world.
Volcanoes
Print Location: Sci Atlas Cases QE522 .B7713 2002 Resource contains images
OBIS record

Journals

American Geophysical Union Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the Journal of Geophysical Research
Geology Some full text available
Peer-reviewed journal, publishing research from all fields of the geosciences relevant to an international audience.
GSA Bulletin Some full text available
Scholarly research in all branches of the earth sciences.
GSA Today Some full text available
Science and news magazine published by the Geological Society of America.
Marine Geology Restricted Resource Some full text available
International journal of marine geology, geochemistry and geophysics.

Organizations & Associations

United States Global Change Research Program Some full text available Resource contains images
Federal research on global change and climate change.


Research Help @ the Science Library
Alison Ricker aricker@oberlin.edu
Science Librarian


Make a Research Appointment
or Chat online

Phone:  
440-775-5146  Office
440-775-8310  Circulation Desk

Geology News from the USGS Newsroom

Loading ...

Book Search
Search OBIS
Journal Finder
Search journals by title or ISSN


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Acknowledgments
This guide created by Martha Roseberry, Kent State University, School of Library and Information Science.  Maintained by Alison Ricker, Science Librarian.  Email: aricker@oberlin.edu
Back to TOP