Country Information
Europa World Restricted Resource
Well researched non partisan political and economic information on countries and territories from around the world,  Also includes some statistical data, directory, and profiles of international organizations.

CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues
About Economics, Politics & Social Issues
Encyclopedia of Governance Restricted Resource
Concentrates on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of political science, public administration, political economy, and sociology.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (2008 ed.) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Features articles on all aspects of the social sciences contributed by scholars from around the world.  

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Definitive reference source on all apects of economics, with articles contributed by economists from all over the world.
Article Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.


CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains video
Includes working papers, policy briefs, case studies, videos and course packs, as well as journal articles and books.  Sources range from NGOs and think tanks to university-based research institutes. Dates of Coverage: 1991-



EconLit Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive index of economic literature, including journal articles, working papers, dissertations, and books. Also includes full text for over 600 journals. Dates of coverage: 1886 - current

Left Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. 

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) Restricted Resource
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs.  Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports.

Dates of Coverage: 1915-



Peace Research Abstracts Restricted Resource
Covers all areas related to peace research, including war and conflict, international relations, arms control, the military, diplomacy, international law and conventions, nations and national policies, and international organizations.  Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, government publications, dissertations, significant speeches and conferences, pamphlets, and newsletters. Dates of Coverage: 1964-

SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy.   Dates of Coverage: 1975--
News Databases
Factiva Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Includes 20,000+ full text global news and business sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and photos from Reuters . Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

 



World News Connection (1995 - 2013) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports.  Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
Data Sources
KOF Index of Globalization
Measures three main dimensions of globalization:  economic, political, social.  Data are available on a yearly basis for 208 countries over the period 1970 - 2009.

IMF eLibrary Data Restricted Resource
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Uses can view and download predefined data reports or create custom reports of IMF data.

OECD iLibrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reports, datasets, journal articles, and statistics on international economics, policy, health and social issues published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.Dates of Coverage: 1998 --

ICPSR Unrestricted Resource

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of more than 500,000 data files in the social sciences.   Includes a bibliography of literature related to the data. 



Google Public Data Explorer (Beta)
Makes large datasets from the World Bank, EuroSTAT, the OECD, and U.S. Census Bureau (et al.) easy to explore, visualize and communicate.

World Bank Data
Browse by country, topic area (e.g. environment, health, science & technology), or economic indicator.

ProQuest Statistical Insight Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Some tables available as Excel spreadsheets.



Public Opinion
iPoll (1935 to date) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations.  Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage:  1935 -

Polling the Nations Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ public opinion surveys by 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.Dates of coverage:  1986 - present



Global Barometer Surveys Unrestricted Resource

The project attempts to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world. It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues.  Regional barometers are available for:  Latin America, Africa, Asia and the Arab world.


Back to TOP