Search strategy
Here is a good, basic formula for getting started with your research in Gender, Sexuality & Feminist Studies.
  1. Begin your search with a library catalog (OBIS, OhioLINK and/or WorldCat) to find books and reference sources.  They provide BACKGROUND and CONTEXT, review and SUMMARIZE earlier work, help you FOCUS your topic and provide CITATIONS to important books, journal articles, conference papers, interviews, etc.
     
  2. Next, search research databases to find articles. The Library has hundreds of databases available, but the ones listed below are good places to begin.
     
  3. Finally, you may wish to use Google or Google Scholar to search the Internet.  Take advantage of Google's advanced search features!
All Items by Source Type

Background & Context Sources

Cultural History of Sexuality
Print Location: Main Reference HQ21 C83 2011 (6 vols)
 

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Citations of journal articles, book reviews, and essays covering topics of gender and sexuality in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from 450 to 1500 AD
Dates of Coverage: 1990 to date
Gender Studies Database Restricted Resource
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more.

Dates of Coverage: 1972-


LGBT Life Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Nearly 800 essential sources including journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.

Dates of Coverage: 1972-

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture
Print Location: Main Reference HQ75.13 .P76 2008
 
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Print Location: Main Reference HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 (3 vols)
 
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
Print Location: Main Reference HQ16 .E53 2003b vols. 1 -2
 
Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
Print Location: Main Reference HQ76 .G724 2010 (3 vols)
 
LGBTQ America Today : An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Main Reference HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009 (3 vols)
 
Women's Movement Today : An Encyclopedia of Third-wave Feminism
Print Location: Main Reference HQ1115 .W644 2006 (2 vols)
 

Primary Sources

Archives Unbound Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Topically focused collections of historical documents.  
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP