News/Newspapers
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Dates of Coverage:  1959 to date

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

Los Angeles Times (1881-1992) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.

New York Times (1851-2014) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.

Additional historical news sources
Library Databases with Primary Source Materia
African American Periodicals (1825-1995) Restricted Resource Some full text available
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress) Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.

American Periodicals (1740-1940) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.


Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains audio
A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.


Hein Online - Law and Government Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.

Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.


LexisNexis Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.  


Indigenous Peoples: North America Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Digital archive of diverse source material pertaining to the histories of Indigenous peoples and their intersections with European peoples in North America.  Sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more

ProQuest Congressional Publications Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.

Race Relations in America, 1928-1976 Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Newspaper collections, books and scanned archival documents published in the antebellum era.


Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.


WorldCat Restricted Resource
WorldCat is the OCLC union catalog, containing more than 43 million records describing books and other items owned by libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat covers thousands of subjects and includes records for items as far back as 1000 B.C. Materials covered in the catalog include: books, internet resources, computer data files, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, slides, sound recordings, and videotapes. WorldCat does not include individual article titles or stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters.

Additional primary source databases


 
Research help
Legal Constructions of Race
White by law: the legal construction of race
By Ian Haney Lopez
New York University Press, 2006

*Search appendix for court cases, then look up by legal citation: 
LexisNexis
 
Digital Collections
Bracero History Archive includes oral histories (Center for History & New Media) 

Cuban Heritage Digital Collections (University of Miami) 

Experiencing War: Hispanics in Service interviews with veterans (Library of Congress) 

First Blacks in the Americas (CUNY Dominican Studies Institute)

Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942-1946 (Library of Congress)

Japanese American Relocation Archive (University of California)


SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience (UC Irvine)

Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860 (Library of Congress)

Study of the spanish-speaking people of Texas 1949 photograph collection (Univ. of Texas at Austin) 



 
Back to TOP