Books and Journal Articles
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine Restricted Resource
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials Dates of coverage: 1975 to present
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Unrestricted Resource
Indexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe. Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date
International Medieval Bibliography Restricted Resource
Indexes international scholarship covering the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. Dates of Coverage: 1967 to date
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences;  most journals 2-5 years out-of-date
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College.
OhioLINK Library Catalog Unrestricted Resource
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio?s universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK?s design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.

Use InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad) to order articles that Oberlin doesn't have in full-text and books that are not available at Oberlin or OhioLink. 
Primary Sources
Early English Books Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
OBIS: Catalog of the Oberlin College Library Unrestricted Resource
Search for books, journals, databases, etc. at Oberlin College. Use the author search to look for works by a scientist or philosopher. 

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scans of over 200,000 volumes published in English (mainly in the UK) in the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800
Gallica Digital Library Unrestricted Resource
Over a million documents accessible for free: Books, Manuscripts, Maps, Images, Newspapers, Magazines, Periodicals, Sound records, Music, Scores, e-Books.
HathiTrust Digital Library Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
Corsair Online Catalog
Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
English Medieval Legal Documents
Europeana
Florilegium Urbanum
Index of Medieval Medical Images
Medical Heritage Library

 
Research help
Main Library Art Library
  • Sign up for a Research Appointment
Science Library
  • Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP