Databases for Journal Articles
America: History and Life Restricted Resource
Index to research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 1,700 journals published in more than 40 languages. Dates of Coverage: 1964 to date
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
SocINDEX Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers.  Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more.   
Peace Research Abstracts Restricted Resource
Covers all areas related to peace research, including war and conflict, international relations, arms control, the military, diplomacy, international law and conventions, nations and national policies, and international organizations.  Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, government publications, dissertations, significant speeches and conferences, pamphlets, and newsletters. Dates of Coverage: 1964-
Context / Reference / Background Info
Oxford Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
American National Biography Restricted Resource
Biographical information on tens of thousands of prominent Americans.  Entries are signed by the authors and include bibliographic references.
Biography Reference Bank Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information about over 500,000 people; includes images, full-text articles, and abstracts of biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements (2013)
Research Help
Drop in at the Research Help Desk or
call 440-775-5031 during reference hours

Email us at reference@oberlin.edu

Chat / IM with a librarian

Sign up for a Research Appointment
Back to TOP