Background / Context

Encyclopedia of Urban America:  The Cities and Suburbs.  Santa Barbara, CA:  ABC-CLIO, 1998
   
e-book; or Main Oversize HT123 .E5 1998  (2 vols.)
Includes articles related to architecture, urban spaces, infrastructure, reform, transportation, etc.


Encyclopedia of American Urban History.  Thousand Oaks:  Sage Publications, 2007
    Main Reference HT123 .E49 2007  (2 vols.)
Covers influential people, major cities, and topics related to transportation, gender, race, housing

Encyclopedia of American Studies Johns Hopkins University Press, 2010
   ebook;  Covers many relevant topics: gender, African Americans Asian Americans, suburbs, gun control, urban planning, utopias

The Advertising Age
Encyclopdia of Advertising
; New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003
    Main Reference HF5803 .A38 2003 (3 vols)

Databases for journal articles
America: History and Life -- articles in American history and culture
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals -- architecture/urban planning journals
SocIndex -- sociology journals, and related fields
Academic Search Complete -- mix of scholarly journals from all disciplines and popular sources
Gender Studies Database -- gender-engaged scholarship from many disciplines
LGBT Life -- journals, popular magazines and newsletters
Communication and Mass Media Complete -- radio, television, film and print media studies
Business Source Complete -- business publications and trade journals
 
Research Tools to Know About
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - search US and foreign dissertations, more recent dissertations often have previews available (get the texts by ordering on OhioLINK if available, checking google to see if it's online, or using ILLiad to order)
ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) - order books or microfilm not available through OhioLINK; order articles not accessible at Oberlin; order dissertations not available on OhioLINK or the web
WorldCat - search the catalogs of US and foreign libraries; identify materials that may be borrowed through ILLiad
Working with a librarian
Magazine Indexes
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1980-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983-current)
    Indexes to American popular magazinew
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
   Magazines, newsletters and journals by and about African Americans
News / Newspaper Sources
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
AP Images - images from the Associated press back to early 20th century
Chicago Defender (1910-1974) prominent black newspaper
Cleveland Plain Dealer (1845-1991)
Ethnic Newswatch - newspapers, magazines and newsletters from ethnic and minority presses
LexisNexis Academic - current news from a large number papers, with backfile into 1980s for some titles
Los Angeles Times (1881-1988)
New York Times (1851-2009)
Popular magazines in print
These are shelved alphabetically by title in the second floor periodicals section in Mudd

Atlantic Monthly
(1857-current) Literary and cultural commentary
Better Homes and Gardens (1926-1975) Womens interest, lifestyle
Ebony (1945-current) (no print -- online only) African American interest magazine
Harper’s Bazaar (1867-1974, some issues missing) Women's high fasion
Ladies Home Journal (1889-1976)  Womens interest, lifestyle
Life (1936-1972) General interest, entertainment
New Republic (1914-current) political commentary
New Yorker (1932-current) editorials, arts, entertainment
Sunset (1901-1902, 1905-1933)  Lifestyle magazine focusing on the West US
Time (1923-current) General interest, current events
Saturday Evening Post
Oberlin's holdings of the Saturday Evening Post are kept in storage.  Issues 1945-1974 will be on a cart that you can request to use in Special Collections (Mudd 4th floor, hours 1-4:30 Mon-Fri)
Saturday Evening Post is a magazine containing editorials, current events, humor, cartoons, illustrations, short stories and poems, and advertisements; it had a large readership in the mid- 20th century
Other Primary Source Ideas
iPoll -- public opinion poll data back to 1935
American History in Video - contains public service announcements, newsreels, documentaries, and archival footage documenting American history
Prelinger Video Archive - contains 60,000 videos, primarily historical advertisements, public service announcments (PSAs), documentary and amateur footage
LexisNexis Academic
- Television and Radio News trascripts back to the early 1990s (and more)
Back to TOP